In the Greater Olean area, the focus in Tuesday’s primary election will be on the contest between Edward W. Jennings and Linda L. Witte for the Democratic line for mayor of Olean.

Jennings, a city fire captain and head of the Code Enforcement Office, is seeking his first elected position.

Witte, a former Olean mayor and the current Ward 1 Alderman, is looking for the Democratic mayoral nomination for the third-straight election. William Aiello, Olean’s current mayor, defeated Witte four years ago. Aiello is seeking re-election.

Sign Up for E-News

Voters will choose their party’s candidates for a variety of offices when they go the polls on Tuesday. Among the other contested elections in the Greater Olean area are:


  • The Conservative primary ballot has David F. Porter and Anne Marie Raymond running for justice.  For council, three candidates are running for two seats, Robert A. Parker, Kathleen Schaeper and James C. Hitchcock.


  • In the primary for supervisor, Michael L. Bushnell is seeking both Democrat and Republican lines.  Mary Ann Powley is running for supervisor as a Democrat, and Monroe B. Bishop is seeking the Republican nomination.  For Republican council, Douglas B. Wilson, Ronald D. Brown and Gerald P. Maerten are running for the two seats.


  • Opposing each other in the Republican primary for highway superintendent are Jeffrey R. Linn and Todd J. Shaw.


  • Running for mayor are Democrats Edward W. Jennings and Linda L. Witte.
  • Vying for election for the Democratic line in Ward 4 are Paul Sungenis and Kevin M. Dougherty in Ward 4.
  • In the Ward 7 Independence Primary Brian J. George and Spencer L. Mummery are squaring off

Polls will be open from noon until 9 p.m.  For more information on the primary ballots and finding local polling places, visit