A tornado warning for Southeastern Cattaraugus County, including Olean, Allegany, Carrollton, Vandalia, Killbuck, Great Valley and Salamanca, has been extended by the National Weather Service in Buffalo from 7:30 p.m. to 9 p.m. Thursday.

Other counties included in the warning are Allegany, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Niagara, Ontario, Orleans, Wayne and Wyoming.

The National Weather Service advises the following: 

Sign Up for Greater Olean Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

  • Flying debris will be dangerous to those caught without shelter.
  • Mobile homes will be damaged or destroyed.
  • Damage to roofs, windows, and vehicles will occur.
  • Tree damage is likely.

Persons are urged to move to basements or interior rooms on the lowest floor of a sturdy building and to avoid windows. Persons who are outdoors, are in mobile homes, or in vehicles should move to the closest substantial shelter, and they should protect themselves from flying debris.

Torrential rainfall occurring with this storm may lead to flash flooding. Drivers are warned not to drive their vehicles through flooded roadways.

Sign Up for E-News to get top stories delivered daily to your inbox. 

Download the FREE TAPinto App!  Click here for Android - Click here for iOS to get news as it is happening.