ST. BONAVENTURE, NY — The third time’s a charm.

ESPN’s Adrian Wojnarowski, ’91, and the New York Post’s Mike Vaccaro, ’89, have been honored again by the National Sports Media Association.

Wojnarowski was named National Sportswriter of the Year for the third consecutive year, while Vaccaro became only the sixth writer since the awards started in 1959 to win three New York state Sportswriter of the Year awards. Vaccaro also won in 2013 and 2014.

Sign Up for Greater Olean Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

The NSMA will honor six new members of its Hall of Fame, two national award winners, and 110 state sportscasters and sportswriters from 49 states and the District of Columbia at the 61st annual NSMA awards banquet June 29 in Winston-Salem, N.C. The awards were announced today.

Wojnarowski becomes the sixth person to win three straight national Sportswriter of the Year awards, joining Tom Verducci, Rick Reilly, Frank Deford, Jim Murray and Red Smith.

Now ESPN’s Senior NBA Insider, “Woj” had a newspaper career that included stops at The Record (Bergen County, NJ), Fresno Bee, and Waterbury Republican-American, before a near 10-year stint at Yahoo Sports. He was a two-time winner of the Associated Press Sports Editors’ Columnist of the Year award.

Vaccaro joins Dick Young of the New York Daily News, Phil Mushnick of the New York Post, and Dave Anderson, George Vescey and Richard Sandomir of the New York Times as the only writers to have won the New York award at least three times.

Vaccaro worked as a columnist and reporter at the Olean Times Herald, Newark Star-Ledger, Kansas City Star, Middletown Times Herald-Record, and as the sports editor for the Northwest Arkansas Times before becoming a lead sports columnist for the New York Post in 2002. He has been honored with more than 50 awards since beginning his career.