OLEAN, NY -- The Greater Olean Area Chamber of Commerce and its Taste of Olean Event Committee are accepting nominations for the 2018 Taste of Olean Hospitality Wall of Fame Awards program.  

The Hospitality Wall of Fame recognizes individuals and/or businesses who have made a significant contribution and given exceptional service to the food service/ hospitality industry in the past and who may continue to do so. The deadline for this year's awards nominations is June 20.

“Olean is famous for its exquisite cuisine and fine dining.  We are honored to recognize those folks that put Olean on the food map,” said Meme Krahe Yanetsko, the Chamber’s COO.  “As a community we are proud that the Greater Olean area restaurants have succeeded in excelling at all the most important elements of a great restaurant — inviting atmosphere, friendly staff and impeccable food in a stylish artistic presentation and its innovative flavor combination.”

Sign Up for E-News

 The Taste of Olean Hospitality Awards are open to any commercial, independent, corporate and franchise foodservice/restaurant company and/or individual, in any service format, regardless of size in the greater Olean area.  Winners can be an owner, manager, wait staff and other food service employees.  A panel of independent judges will assess the nominations using the following judging criteria:

  •  Minimum of five years commitment to the food service industry in the Olean area
  • Has made significant contributions to the industry
  • Food service has to be located/was located in the greater Olean area, which includes Olean, Allegany, Hinsdale, Portville, and Westons Mills.
  • Be a successful member of the foodservice, hospitality or related industries
  • Must have exhibited outstanding service and contributions to the industry and our greater Olean area community.

The winners of the Taste of Olean Hospitality Awards will be announced on June 22 and recognized during the 28th Taste of Olean on July 22 at War Veterans Park, 551 E. State St.

Past inductees to the Hospitality Wall of Fame include: Guerino “Butch” Butchello and Chef Anthony Lentola from the Castle Restaurant; Chef Pasquale “Patsy” Piccioli; John Sawaya; Sr.; Carl Iseman; Louis and Nancy Giannechini; Lucia “Lou” Bardenett; William “Bill” Augostini; Quinto and Dora Bagazzoli; Nicholas “Nick” Fratarcangelo; Louis Marra; Daniel Fessenden, Robert Styles, Tony Bassano, Jim McAfee, Neil and Denis Goodemote; Paul and Mary Psathas; Anthony Zampogna; James Pappas; Lou Russo; Nick Livoto; Steve Hollowell; Jackie Attard; John Malara; Richard Marcus; Louis V., ‘Little Louie,’ Marra; Eugene Stopha, Jack Coffey, Louis Frungillo Sr., Richard ‘Richie’ Piccioli, MarLayne Robinson, John M. ‘Mac’ Sue, Tom Weatherell, Joseph Marra, John & Karol Long, Anthony Fratercangelo, James ‘Jim’ Hastas, Mike & PJ McAfee, Anthony Procacci, Paul & Lisa Marra, and Ola May Gayton. 

To learn more about the Wall of Fame program and to download nomination information and forms, please visit www.oleanny.com.