OLEAN, NY – The Olean Common Council gathered for a special meeting Monday at 5 p.m. for the purpose of electing a council president and chose Paul Gonzalez, who represents Ward 3.

The vote for council president had been done Thursday during the council meeting before Mayor William J. Aiello's State of City address. Because the vote came to a tie, 3 to 3, the vote was delayed.

Ward 6 Alderman Nate Smith, who had not been at Thursday’s meeting, broke the tie between Gonzalez and Ward 1 Alderman Linda Witte.

Sign Up for Greater Olean Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Thursday and again on Monday, Gonzalez voted for himself and received votes from Ward 2 Alderman Jason Panus and Ward 4 Alderman Kevin Dougherty, and Witte voted for herself and received votes from Ward 5 Alderman John Crawford and Ward 7 Alderman Dave Anastasia.

Gonzalez, who succeeds Crawford as president, had been council president from 2016 to 2018. He and Witte are Democrats, and so are Crawford and Anastasia. Panus, Dougherty and Smith are Republicans.

The official council photo will be taken at the Common Council Committee of the Whole meeting Tuesday. 

Sign Up for E-News to get top stories delivered daily to your inbox. 

Download the FREE TAPinto App!  Click here for Android - Click here for iOS to get news as it is happening.