New York State has cleared five regions for Phase 3 reopening Friday. The Western New York Region, which includes the Greater Olean area, is not among them.

Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo made the announcement Thursday during his daily coronavirus briefing.

Western New York entered Phase 2 on June 2 and will become eligible for Phase 3 next week. The regions cleared for Phase 3 reopening are the Central New York, Finger Lakes, Mohawk Valley, North Country and Southern Tier regions.

Sign Up for Greater Olean Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

"We have five regions that we have reviewed all the data," Cuomo said."We have global experts who then go through the data because sometimes if you look at the data, you look at the underlying numbers, you look at the underlying tests, you can see something, but we have the best experts that you can possibly have reviewing this, and they have reviewed it and five regions will enter Phase 3 tomorrow, Friday."

Phase 3 will allow restaurants and other food services business, as well as personal care businesses to reopen under state guidelines.

For more information on the Coronavirus in the Greater Olean area, visit  TAPinto Greater Olean's Coronavirus Updates page, which is updated continuously.

Sign Up for E-News to get top stories delivered daily to your inbox. 

Download the FREE TAPinto App!  Click here for Android - Click here for iOS to get news as it is happening.