Council Approves Board and Commission Appointments

Zoning Board Renderings Credits: Courtesy of the City of Hackensack

HACKENSACK -- The Hackensack Mayor and Council approved appointments to various city boards at its city council meeting, held on Tuesday night.

Donna Sigga and Mohamad Habehh were appointed to three-year terms to the Access to All Advisory Board, while Hanneh Kalyoussef and David Dungey were appointed to two-year terms. The purpose of the Board is to advise the Mayor and Council of the City of Hackensack with regard to the needs of residents and other individuals within the City who have disabilities.

Martin Smith was appointed to a three-year term to the Condo COOP Advisory Board, which is a dedicated to furthering discussion on issues such as traffic, parking, emergency services, garbage removal, and other quality of life issues affecting residents in condominiums. John Parisik and Jessica Parisik received one-year appointments to the Environmental Commission, while Joseph Dunsay and Richard Lo Pinto were both appointed to three-year terms. 

Sign Up for E-News

Al Borelli received a one-year term as Employee Liaison for the Rent Stabilization Board, which meets with landlords and homeowners to create fair compromises with tenants. Venus Nelson, Basim Ahmad and Yasheka Galbert were appointed three-year terms to this committee.

Fred Kowal was appointed DPW Liaison on a one-year term to the Shade Tree Advisory Committee, which seeks to beautify the community by encouraging the planting of trees in Hackensack. Bernadette Bracken was appointed to serve a three-year term.

The approval vote was unanimous. Mayor John Lacrosse offered his congratulations to the new appointees and said he was excited to have them on the boards. Read more about Hackensack's Boards and Committees on the City website.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News


Upcoming Events

Sat, March 3, 12:00 PM

The Bethwood, Totowa

Have-A-Heart Tricky Tray

Food & Drink Giving Back

Thu, March 15, 6:30 PM

The Forum School, Waldwick

Special Education Community Resource Fair



Fri, March 16, 7:00 PM

The Grove, Cedar Grove

Susan G. Komen North Jersey

Giving Back Other

Students at Hackensack’s Nellie K. Parker School Complete L.E.A.D. Drug and Violence Prevention Education Program

February 16, 2018

HACKENSACK -- About 100 second grade students at Nellie K. Parker School celebrated the completion of their L.E.A.D. (Law Enforcement Against Drugs) program with a graduation ceremony January 30, 2018 in the school auditorium attended by parents, teachers and Principal Lillian Whitaker, Superintendent Rosemary Marks and Assistant Superintendent Andrea Parchment.

“In our community, ...