TRENTON, NJ - New Jersey’s minimum hourly wage will go up by $1 to $12 per hour, for most employees, on January 1, 2021, per the state Department of Labor and Workforce Development.

Increases are less if you are a small employer or operate a seasonal business, which makes $11.10, while employees who work on a farm for an hourly or piece-rate wage will see their minimum hourly wage increase to $10.44, both rising from $10.30.

This was established February 2019, Gov. Phil Murphy signed a law that incrementally increases the minimum hourly wage to $15 (by 2024) for most employees, but gives seasonal, small, and agricultural employers more time to reach the new minimum threshold.Cash Wage for Tipped Workers increases to $4.13

Sign Up for Hackensack Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

The New Jersey Wage and Hour Law, as amended in 2019, requires NJDOL to revise the minimum hourly wage rates annually by either the amount specified in the law, or by an amount based on any increase from the prior year in the Consumer Price Index, whichever is higher. NJDOL regulations require the Department to publish notice of the new minimum hourly wage rates on its website by Sept. 30 and that the notice later be published in the New Jersey Register.

Businesses should check with their accountant or payroll service on what increase should be applied. For more information, see wage chart or go directly to Department of Labor and Workforce website here

 

TAPinto is free and published daily made possible through sponsorships and advertising. Get Your Town's News in Your Inbox:  Click Here to sign up.