HACKENSACK, NJ - Two Bergen County Academies students were announced as National Merit Scholarship winners last week, along with approximately 3,500 students across the country.

Yun Lee of Fair Lawn, who attends Bergen County Academies in Hackensack, has been awarded a National Merit Scholarship from Northwestern University.

His probable career field is education and Northwestern University is a major teaching and research institution whose undergraduate campus is located in Evanston, Illinois. Its
full-time undergraduate enrollment includes 7,300 students pursuing programs of study in the Arts and Sciences as well as the specific professional schools of Education, Social Policy, Engineering, Journalism, Music and Speech.

Sign Up for E-News

Vedant Rautela of Glen Rock, who attends Bergen County Academies in Hackensack, was also awarded the National Merit Scholarship from Northeastern University in Boston, Massachusetts.

His probable career field is computer science.

Northeastern is a private university founded in 1898. The University is a leader in interdisciplinary and use-inspired research, urban engagement, and the integration of classroom learning with real-world experience, according to the press release. They integrate rigorous classroom studies with experiential learning opportunities - anchored by the nation's largest, most innovative cooperative education program - designed to prepare students for a lifetime of achievement.

On June 5, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) out of Evanston, Illinois, announced the winners of National Merit Scholarships which are financed by U.S. colleges and universities.

Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among the Finalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution, officials from NMSC announced in a press release.

These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship. An additional group of Scholars will be announced in July, bringing the total number of college-sponsored Merit Scholarship recipients in the 2019 competition to approximately 4,100.

This year, 173 higher education institutions are underwriting Merit Scholarship awards through the National Merit Scholarship Program. Sponsor colleges and universities include 95 private and 78 public institutions located in 43 states and the District of Columbia.