HACKENSACK, NJ – An anonymous email acquired by TAPinto Hackensack and sent to hundreds of Hackensack school employees late Saturday night tells them that their “jobs are at stake” unless a slate of candidates led by Board of Education Vice President Timothy Hoffman wins Tuesday’s school election.

The email, which was sent from an account called “Paras Matter Too,” warns of a state monitor being appointed that would result in job cuts if Hoffman’s team loses. The email was sent to paraprofessionals who work in classrooms as teacher aides and could be vulnerable in such a scenario.

Board of Education President Lara Rodriguez is calling on Hoffman to denounce and condemn the email and identify who sent it.

Sign Up for Hackensack Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

“This blatant scare tactic was done on behalf of Tim Hoffman’s campaign and it is absolutely shameful,” says Rodriguez. “Hundreds of people think their jobs are at stake and this is completely false. There is no state monitor and there are no budget cuts. Tim Hoffman is the only one who can clean this up right now by taking full responsibility for this disgraceful stunt.”

Robin Wallace, a spokesperson for Hoffman’s campaign, denied having anything to do with the email and sought to deflect blame to Rodriguez.

“That email did not come from anyone affiliated with our campaign,” Wallace said. “It’s not worth denouncing it because it has nothing to do with us. As far as we know the only person to contact district employees via email is Lara Rodriguez."

Rodriguez says that all six candidates running on Tuesday are supporting the current school budget and that no jobs are at stake no matter who wins.

“To try to scare public employees with anonymous deliberately false emails is really deplorable,” said Rodriguez.

Rodriguez is heading the Hackensack Smart Schools Team that includes Scott James-Vickery and Ira Goodman. Hoffman leads the For Hackensack’s Future slate that includes Yvette Washington Irving and Basim Ahmad. Polls are open on Tuesday from 2:00 to 8:00 p.m.