HAMILTON, NJ --  Hamilton Township will have a new leader to start-off the new year. On Wednesday, January 1, Mayor-elect Jeff Martin will take the oath of office becoming the next mayor of the ninth largest municipality in New Jersey.  Martin will take the oath of office on January 1 at 12 noon at The Stone Terrace at John Henry's. 

Incoming members of the Township Council, Pasquale "Pat" Papero, Jr. and Nancy Phillips will also be sworn in.  They will join current council members Anthony Carabelli, Jr. and Rick Tighe. Martin, who currently serves as council president, will vacate his council seat which will subsequently be filled in the next month. 

The Hamilton Township Council will hold its bi-annual reorganization and elect a  new council president and vice-president.  After the reorganization, Martin will take the oath of office which will be administered by State Senator Troy Singleton. 

Sign Up for Hamilton/Robbinsville Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

The public is welcome to attend the swearings in and meeting. Doors open at 11:00am. 

Martin takes over from current Mayor Kelly Yaede who has held the office since 2012 following the resignation of former Mayor John Bencivengo.

Follow us on Facebook and sign up for TAPinto Hamilton/Robbinsville E-News alerts to be the first to read about all things local!

Download the FREE TAPinto App!  Click here for Android - Click here for iOS for breaking news, traffic/weather alerts and special offers.

Know a story we should share with readers? Email editor Elizabeth Meyers and tell her about it.