HASBROUCK HEIGHTS, NJ -- Incumbents in both Districts 36 and 38 won re-election in the November 7 election which saw Democrat nominee Phil Murphy defeat Lieutenant Governor Kim Guardagno for the governor’s office.

Robert Gordon, Tim Eustace, and Joseph Lagana won re-election in New Jersey’s District 38, which covers towns in Bergen and Passaic counties, including Bergenfield, Fair Lawn, Glen Rock, Hasbrouck Heights, Hawthorne, Lodi, Maywood, New Milford, Oradell, Paramus, River Edge, Rochelle Park, and Saddle Brook. In Hasbrouck Heights, Gordon (1,548 votes) trailed Republican challenger Kelly Langschultz (1,550 votes)  while Eustace and Lagana received 1,544 and 1,531 votes to Republicans Christopher Wolf (1,454) and William Leonard (1 446.)

In District 36, incumbents Senator Paul Sarlo, and Assembly Gary Schaer and Marlene Caride defeated the Republican challengers.  District 36 covers towns in both Bergen and Passaic counties, including Carlstadt, Cliffside Park, East Rutherford, Little Ferry, Lyndhurst, Moonachie, North Arlington, Passaic, Ridgefield, Ridgefield Park, Rutherford, South Hackensack, Teterboro, Wallington, and Wood-Ridge. Sarlo receive 1,761 votes to Republican challenger Ferrara, 773. Caride received 1,498 and Schaer 1,480 votes to challengers Paul Passamano Jr. (899) and Marc Marsi (863.)

Sign Up for E-News

For the Board of Chosen Freeholders, Democrats Joan Voss and David Ganz defeated Republican challengers.

Both statewide ballot questions, for library construction funding and environmental clean up funding, soundly passed. Both Hasbrouck Heights and Wood-Ridge voters supported both measures.