WOOD-RIDGE, NJ -  Things are looking up for Wood-Ridge girl’s basketball coach David Mosconi.  In the midst of a massive program rebuild, he returns nine players, including all five starters, as the Lady Blue Devils look to improve on last season’s 4-22 season.  

Having an additional year experience is important and Mosconi feels his team “will be competitive in every game” this season.  Mosconi has penciled in four more freshman and two sophomores into the mix for varsity playing time. In all, the program has 20 players, 15 sophomores or freshmen so the team will still be very young.

Starting Lineup: Mosconi has Sophomore Angela Picheo (5-4) (6.3 ppg)  penciled in at the point guard spot. She will be joined in the backcourt by junior Teana Shine (5-6) at the shooting guard spot. Sophomore Jenna Castellano (5-5) (7.04 ppg) will handle a wing along with Shaye Whaley (5-7),(5.1 ppg) another sophomore.  Skylar Basich (5-11) (3 ppg)  is the fourth sophomore in the lineup, and will handle the duties in the middle.

Sign Up for E-News

Bench:  Mosconi will have plenty of choices off the bench.  Senior captain Shannelle Vazquez (5-5) will add experience and maturity as the team’s lone senior.  Co-captain Ruri Kim (5-2) will provide experienced depth in the backcourt.   But expect to see the team to continue to go with youth off the bench as well.

Sophomore Kyle Wasserman (5-8) (2.1 ppg)  will provide size in the middle, along with fellow sophomore Emily Cupo (5-7). Cupo is the leading returning scorer (7.3 ppg) Fatoumata Camara (5-5) and Janel Robinson (5-1) round out the sophomore class.  

Freshmen shooting guard Natalie Cala (5-3), point guard Samanth Eckert (5-6), and wings Amanda DiMase (5-8) and Emily Gardella will push for time on the varsity.

Those who fall out of the game rotation will probably slide down to the junior varsity, where they will join juniors Chelsey Evans (5-6), Amber Young (5-3, Sabriella Ardilla (5-6); sophomores Alexus Young (5-6), Skylar Skorski (5-2), Jeel Patel (5-0), and freshman Jessenia Evans (5-5).

The Blue Devils play in the Meadowlands Division of the North Jersey Interscholastic Conference.

Schedule
 

Friday, December 15, 2017

7:00PM

At Wallington

Sunday, Dec 17, 2017

11:00 AM

At Ramsey

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2017

5:30PM

Saddle Brook

Thursday, Dec 21, 2017

5:30PM

Hasbrouck Heights

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2017

11:45 AM

Holiday Tournament vs Union City

Friday, Dec 29, 2017

TBD

Holiday Tournament vs Union City

Thursday, Jan 4, 2018

7:00PM

at  North Arlington

Saturday, Jan 6, 2018

11:30AM

at Madison

Tuesday, Jan 9, 2018

5:30PM

Becton

Thursday, Jan 11, 2018

4:00PM

at Paterson Charter

Saturday, Jan 13, 2018

10:00AM

Bergenfield

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2018

5:30PM

Saint Mary's

Thursday, Jan 18, 2018

5:30PM

Leonia

Saturday, Jan 20, 2018

11:30AM

Waldwick

Monday, Jan 22, 2018

5:30PM

at Weehawken

Tuesday, Jan 23, 2018

5:30PM

Weehawken

Thursday, Jan 25, 2018

5:30PM

Wallington

Tuesday, Jan 30, 2018

7:00PM

at Saddle Brook

Thursday, Feb 1, 2018

5:30PM

at Hasbrouck Heights

Tuesday, Feb 6, 2018

5:30PM

North Arlington

Thursday, Feb 8, 2018

5:00PM

at Becton

Monday, Feb 12, 2018

5:30PM

at Palisades Park

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2018

5:30PM

Paterson Charter

Thursday, Feb 15, 2018

7:00PM

at St. Mary

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2018

7:00PM

Away vs. TBD - NJIC Tournament

NJIC Tournament

7:00PM

NJIC Home TBD