SECAUCUS, NJ - Five Wood-Ridge Blue Devils and two Hasbrouck Heights Aviators were among a total of 15 players the schools had named to the NJIC All Meadowlands teams.  

Seniors Drew Packen (second base), Ryan Connelly (first base), Eric Drotos (catcher) and Lucas Leone (outfield) were joined by their Wood-Ridge teammate Liam Winslow on the First Team.  Hasbrouck Heights was represented on the First Team by pitcher Nick Cupo and infielder Shawn Calhoun.

The Second Team saw four Aviators named to the squad, senior catcher Dylan Grisafe, junior shortstop Mario Gomez, and a pair of sophomores in first baseman Dario Morales and designated hitter Connor Friedel.  Wood-Ridge was represented on the Second Team by a pair of seniors, pitcher Anthony D'Amico and outfielder Jake Colon.

Sign Up for Hasbrouck Heights/Wood-Ridge/Teterboro Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Hasbrouck Heights sophomore Tommy Capozzi and Wood-Ridge freshman Michael Sarlo were named Honorable Mention. 

Wood-Ridge finished as the regular season champion, ahead of Non-Public B champion St. Mary (Rutherford). Hasbrouck Heights finished fourth. 

Championship Team: Wood-Ridge      
COACH OF THE YEAR: Shawn Ziem – PCSST      
Position & Name Grade School  
P-Kenny Quijano 12 Saint Mary’s  
P-Matt Perine 11 Becton  
P-Jesus Gonzalez 12 Paterson Charter  
P-Nick Cupo 12 Hasbrouck Heights  
P-Eric McKenna 12 North Arlington  
C-Joe Valentine 12 Saint Mary’s  
C-Eric Drotos 12 Wood-Ridge  
OF-Lucas Leone 12 Wood-Ridge  
OF-Jimmy Lopez 12 Weehawken  
OF-John Hacker 10 Saddle Brook  
OF-Shea Hruska 12 Saddle Brook  
IF-Drew Packen 12 Wood-Ridge  
IF-Anthony Marchetto 12 Saddle Brook  
IF-James Colon 11 Weehawken  
IF-Shawn Calhoun 12 Hasbrouck Heights  
1B-Ryan Connelly 12 Wood-Ridge  
1B-Nick Cerbo 12 Saddle Brook  
DH-Tony Alho 10 North Arlington  
Utility-Joe Witt 10 North Arlington  
Utility-Liam Winslow 11 Wood-Ridge  
Position & Name Grade School  
P-Anthony D’Amico 12 Wood-Ridge  
P-Dan Oswald 11 Becton  
P-Matt Alday 12 Saint Mary’s  
C-Dylan Grisafe 12 Hasbrouck Heights  
C-Maximo Reyes Rivera 11 Becton  
OF-Matt Frangipane 12 Wallington  
OF-Jake Colon 12 Wood-Ridge  
OF-Troy Medlock 11 Paterson Charter  
OF-Nick Mitarotonda 11 Becton  
IF-Nico Viso 11 Becton  
IF-Mario Gomez 11 Hasbrouck Heights  
IF-Jason Muoio 11 Saddle Brook  
1B-Dario Morales 10 Hasbrouck Heights  
DH-Connor Friedel 10 Hasbrouck Heights  
Name Grade School  
Jonathan Garcia 10 Paterson Charter  
Michael Sarlo 9 Wood-Ridge  
Max Cue 11 Saddle Brook  
Billy Ricci 9 Wallington  
Tommy Capozzi 10 Hasbrouck Heights  
Trevor Deliantis 12 Becton  
Sean Bielitz 12 Saint Mary’s  
Pete Ziakos 10 North Arlington  
Joey Rovito 9 Weehawken  


TAPinto Hasbrouck Heights/Wood-Ridge/Teterboro is Hasbrouck Heights, Wood-Ridge and Teterboro’s free daily news source.

TAPinto Hasbrouck Heights/Wood-Ridge/Teterboro is the official newspaper of the Hasbrouck Heights Board of Education and Hasbrouck Heights Borough Council.

Subscribe for free daily eNews delivered to your inbox.  Follow us on Facebook and on Twitter.  (@HHeightsWRidgeT)  Live on your phone?  Then download the TAPinto App!   Click here for Android.  Click here for iOS.

Want to let us know what you think? Send a Letter to the Editor

We are never     more than a click away.