MOONACHIE, NJ - Hasbrouck Heigthts football players and cheerleaders gathered Monday evening at the Graycliff for the Hasbrouck Heights Football Awards Dinner.  The focus of the evening, according to retiring head football coach Nick Delcalzo should be on the players and cheerleaders for the effort and dedication.

Particular attention was given to the graduating seniors.  Delcalzo hailed the group, stating that “they will be remembered as one of the most decorated senior classes” in Hasbrouck Heights history. 

During their four years in the program, the class of 2020 recorded a 42-3 record, reaching the state sectional Group 1 final all four years, winning three, plus two NJIC Conference Championships and the inaugural North 1 Bowl Championship in 2018. 

Sign Up for Hasbrouck Heights/Wood-Ridge/Teterboro Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Hasbrouck Heights’ streak of three straight Group 1 championships came to an end with the loss to Park Ridge in the North 2, Group 1 final.  Hasbrouck Heights finished the season with a 9-2 record, losing their season opener to NJIC Meadowlands Division Champion Cresskill, 35-14 before winning nine straight to make it to the North 2, Group 1 finals.

Awards were given to the outstanding players on the team, as well the 6 + 4 Meritorious Service Award was presented by Hasbrouck Heights Police Chief Michael Colaneri, representing Hasbrouck Heights Junior Football League. The award is given football players and cheerleaders who have put in 10 consecutive years of service into the football/cheer program, six at the Junior Football League level, and four at the high school level.


Most Valuable Player – Spencer Lee, **Led the State in Passing Completion % 

Coaches Award –Max Powers

Coaches Award –Andre Brown

Coaches Award – Chris Cravotta 

Arthur Christian Award – Michael Robertson (Award for Dedication to the Program)

Most Outstanding Offensive Linemen – Hector Taveras 

Most Outstanding Defensive Linemen – John Sedlmeir (2nd Team All-State) 

Defensive Player of the Year – Matteo Ochoa (1st Team All-County/ 1ST Team All-State) 

Offensive Player of the Year – Zai’heer Jenkins (3rd Team All-State) 

Offensive Practice Player – Kevin Campen

Defensive Practice Player- Justin Wexler

6+4 Football:  Spencer Lee, Zai’heer Jenkins, Matteo Ochoa, Michael Robertson

6+4 Cheerleading:  Lauren Mullins, Camryn Arabi, Chiari Colletti, Natalia Facchini, Briana Kashuba, Ashley Annichiarico, Victoria Bevacqua, Katelyn Scannell


TAPinto Hasbrouck Heights/Wood-Ridge/Teterboro is Hasbrouck Heights, Wood-Ridge and Teterboro’s free daily news source, and is the official newspaper of the Hasbrouck Heights Board of Education and Hasbrouck Heights Borough Council.

Sign up for our FREE daily eNews.

Like us on Facebook  and follow us on @TAPintoHasbrouckHeightsWood.RidgeTeterboro and Twitter @HHeightsWRidgeT