Hawthorne, NJ - Unofficial election results project Mayor Richard Goldberg has been re-elected along with Republican council incumbents Bruce A. Bennett, John Lane, and Dominic Mele. 

As of 9:41 p.m., with 92% reporting, the results are as follows:


Sign Up for E-News

REP - Richard S. Goldberg with 2,451 votes, 54.88%

DEM - Naomi B. Collier with 1,762, 39.45%

IND - Philip Speulda with 246, 5.51%


REP - Dominic Mele 2,355 votes, 18.55%

REP - Bruce A. Bennett 2,374 votes, 18.70%

REP - John V. Lane 2,374 votes 18.70%

DEM - Jacquelyn M. Burrows 1,861 votes, 14.66%

DEM - Cynthia D. Frank 1,864 votes, 14.68%

DEM - Meaghan Eileen Tuohey 1,860 votes, 14.65%

Goldberg survived a spirited Republican primary challenge from Frank Giglio in June, earning 1,024 votes to win the nomination, and ultimately kept the mayor's seat with his victory tonight. This will be Goldberg’s third term, securing him a career of thirteen years as the borough’s chief executive when he took the seat after Patrick Botbyl resigned in 2008.

While the incumbent party won tonight in Hawthorne, their victory comes amidst a change in party at the top levels of state government.  Democrat Phil Murphy is being reported as having won the governorship of New Jersey tonight with his Lt. Governor candidate, Assemblywoman Sheila Oliver.  Governor-elect Murphy will replace outgoing Republican Governor Chris Christie in January.