HAWTHORNE, NJ - The winners of the Passaic County Clerk's poster contest were revealed at the Borough Council meeting Wednesday evening.  The contest was centered on two themes.  "One was on 'women's suffrage' and the other was on 'my county'," Mayor Goldberg said.  He then announced each of the winners, and those present came up to receive a certificate from Passaic County Clerk Danielle Ireland-Imhof.

"We're very proud to have the county clerk as a member of the Hawthorne community," Goldberg said as he introduced Imhof to speak.

"This is the 24th annual Passaic County Clerk's My Poster contest," Imhof said.  "The purpose of the contest, which is done by county clerks is all 21 counties, is to have 4th graders design and submit a poster about what is special about their home county.  We ask for landmarks, places of interest; we ask each 4th grade school in all public schools, private schools, parochial schools, and charter schools throughout Passaic County to design a poster showing it.  2020 is the 100th anniversary of the ratification of the 19th Constitutional Amendment which granted women the right to vote, which is why I added a second category.  Children can show why it is important for women to have the right to vote and in celebration of the 100th anniversary."

Sign Up for Hawthorne Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

The clerk said that 610 entries had been received by her office from across the county.  "To narrow it down from over 600 entries to the 42 we honored in 2020, we had 12 winners in the county landmark category, another 12 in the women's suffrage category, and because we couldn't decide, 18 honorable mention winners.  So in total of 42 winners in 2020.  We narrowed that 600 down through two rounds of judging in-house to approximately 100 posters."

She explained that from those 100 posters, three guests judges came in to make the final selections.  The guest judges were the head of the Passaic County Community College art program, the Passaic County surrogate, and the president of Passaic County Education Association.  "These three guest judges narrowed it down from 100 to 42 that we celebrate today," Imhof said, "and of those 42, 18 were from Hawthorne.  Congratulations to our young artists, thank you to Mayor Goldberg and council for your recognition."

The Hawthorne winners are listed below.

My County

  • March - Mia Cabezas - Washington Elementary School
  • April - Eliza Xhakli-Sulejmani - Roosevelt Elementary School

Women's Suffrage

  • March - Cassiel Maldonado, 3rd Place - Washington Elementary School
  • April - Isis N. Walker, 2nd Place - Washington Elementary School
  • July - Gia I. Droz - Washington Elementary School
  • August - Kira T. Reed - Roosevelt Elementary School
  • September - Kalvin Castro - St. Anthony School
  • November - River M. Foley - Washington Elementary School
  • December - Julia McLaughlin - St. Anthony School

Honorable Mentions

  • Natalia E. Bowden - Washington Elementary School
  • Christian B. Davis - Thomas Jefferson Elementary School
  • Nolan Escobar - Roosevelt Elementary School
  • Tianna L. Hinson - Washington Elementary School
  • Camila A. Rodriguez - Washington Elementary School
  • Megan Sheen - Hawthorne Christian Academy
  • Nicholas Toledo - Washington Elementary School

Hey there, reader!  Do you want to chime in?  Submit a letter to the editor of TAPinto Hawthorne

Sign up to receive FREE TAPinto news in your email inbox: https://www.tapinto.net/subscriptions/new