HAWTHORNE, NJ - At the Thursday evening Hawthorne Board of Education Reorganization Meeting, incumbent board members Mr. Alexander Clavijo, Mr. Bruce Reicher, and Mr. Louis B. Turco were sworn in to serve new three-year terms.  Other members of the board included Mr. Michael Doyle, Mr. Anthony Puluse, Mr. Michael Sciarra, Ms. Tania Sanford, Ms. Abigail Goff, and Mr. Marco Totaro. 

Ms. Gertrude Engel served as Business Administrator/Board Secretary and administered the oath of office.

Michael Doyle was re-elected President and Alexander Clavijo was re-elected Vice President with unanimous votes.

Sign Up for Hawthorne Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

"We are excited about the upcoming year, especially as we start making the referendum projects a reality," Vice President Clavijo said to TAPinto Hawthorne, referring to the $24.4 Million school renovation referendum held in September.

Mr. Richard Spirito, Superintendent of Public Schools, extended his congratulations to the returning board members.  "We look forward to our continued work together."

Following the code of ethics, future Board of Education meetings were recommended for January 21, February 11, March 10, April 14, May 12, June 9, June 23, July 21, August 18, September 15, October 20, November 17, and December 15.

Thirty-six agenda items were put forward to commence the official operations of the new 2020 school board.  Among those were to adopt its by-laws; the legal services of Fogarty & Hara, Esq.; Suplee, Clooney, and Co. for audit services; The Vozza Agency as Risk Manager; the proposal to readopt a petty cash fund with funds varying between $50-$200 for single expenditures depending on the department; Columbia University to provide School Medical Examiner services; and others.

A resolution was put forward stating the Supervisor of Building and Grounds be appointed for the year as follows:

  • Appointment of Asbestos Management Officer/Coordinator
  • Appointment of Safety & Health Designee and Re-adoption of Safety Security Plan
  • Appointment of Indoor Air Quality Designee
  • Appointment of Integrated Pest Management Coordinator and IPM Plan
  • Appointment of Right to Know Officer
  • Appointment of Chemical Hygiene Officer and Plan
  • Appointment of AHERA Coordinator

A resolution called for Mr. Pete Vander Velde and Mr. Kevin Foley to be made Attendance Officers.

To be appointed Liaisons for Missing and Abused Children were Billy Cunningham - Hawthorne High School, Erin Devor - Lincoln Middle School, Stephen Droske - Jefferson School, Joseph Pisacane - Roosevelt School, Susan Spinelli - Washington School, and Jessica Pignatello - Out of District Placements.

Hey there, reader!  Do you want to chime in?  Submit a letter to the editor of TAPinto Hawthorne

Sign up to receive FREE TAPinto news in your email inbox: www.tapinto.net/enews