Legislation includes Pascrell-authored measure to extend Earned Income Tax Credit to Puerto Ricans

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Rep. Bill Pascrell, Jr. (D-NJ-09) praised House's passage of H.R.5687, the Emergency Supplemental Appropriations for Disaster Relief and Puerto Rico Disaster Tax Relief Act of 2020. This supplemental appropriations bill will provide support to Puerto Rico following Hurricane Maria and a series of recent earthquakes. The bill also includes Pascrell’s legislation to provide a federal supplement to the Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) in Puerto Rico and the other U.S. territories.

“The destruction in Puerto Rico from Hurricane Maria and the terrible earthquake last month with its ongoing aftershocks make this relief more necessary than ever. Today’s emergency aid bill has my enthusiastic support,” said Rep. Pascrell.  “I am thankful my legislation to provide a federal supplement to the EITC in Puerto Rico and the other U.S. territories, H.R. 3307, was included in this bill. Unlike Americans in every other state, working Puerto Rican taxpayers are excluded from the federal EITC to supplement their incomes. This is a deeply unfair restriction. Our fellow Americans in Puerto Rico desperately need the support of their federal government. I am proud to help lead that support in the House.”

Sign Up for Hawthorne Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Rep. Pascrell has led efforts in Congress to provide an EITC for residents of Puerto Rico since 2007. He most recently reintroduced the legislation in June 2019 along with Resident Commissioner Jenniffer González -Colón (R-PR).

The Joint Committee on Taxation estimates that this provision would reduce poverty by putting an extra $6.9 billion into the pockets of working Americans in Puerto Rico and other U.S. territories over the next ten years. The legislation is cosponsored by Reps. Don Beyer (D-VA-08), Suzan DelBene (D-WA-01), Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ-12), Darren Soto (D-FL-09), Barbara Lee (D-CA-13), Nydia Velázquez (D-NY-07), Brian Higgins (D-NY-26), Danny K. Davis (D-IL-07), Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-NY-14), Tom Suozzi (D-NY-03), and Brendan Boyle (D-PA-02),  and Dels. Gregorio Kilili Sablan (D-No. Mariana Islands) and Michael San Nicolas (D-Guam).