HILLSBOROUGH, NJ  - The Hillsborough Raider Skyland Varsity Football team and the Hillsborough Jr. Raider Skyland Junior Varsity Gold Football team were each honored with a proclamation by the Township Committee recently, honoring the teams for their  championship seasons.

Combined, the teams won 17 of the 18 games in which they competed.

The junior varsity squad had an undefeated season; the varsity team had a record of 9-1 as it won its third straight championship.

Sign Up for E-News

The Raiders Junior Varsity Gold Team was the Junior Skyland Football Conference champion for the second year in a row, finishing the season with a record of 9-0.

The JV team was led by head coach Joe Riccardi and assistant coaches Blair DeRoner, Clint Skala, Jim Ruh, Brenden Ruh and Joe Battagliese.

Team members included Cynthia Akosua, Daniel Allen, Jake Battagliese, Michael Crossman, Carson DeRoner, Tyler Jackson, Matthew Jones, Damian Kutny, Jonathan Lobelo, Ian McCauley, Logan McGann, Chimmy Ozokpor, Austin Quandt, Hudson Ruh, James Ruh III, Nick Santa Barbara, Pierce Skala and Tyler Van Cleef.

The varsity squad was led by head coach James Burke and assistant coaches Jacob Patrick, John Mazuera, Tom McLain, Eric McLaughlin, Paul Michinard and Sal Volpe.

Team members  included players Thomas Amankwaa, Rohan Deb, William Dixon, Ray Giuliano, Mike Giuliano, Marc Gulla, AJ Johnson, Mike Kondratiuk, Jaime Mazuera, Zach McCann, Jason McLain, Ethan McLaughlin, Tyler Michinard, Adam Movshin, Andrew Santa Barbara, Leo Schiro, Evan Swearengin, Ryan Vierbuchen and Salvatore Volpe.

The team averaged over 27 points per game and finished the season by defeating Ridge 27-10 in the semi-finals and Watchung Hills 18-6 in the finals.