HOLMDEL, NJ - Reminding all of us about the value of teamwork and community, the Holmdel Township Committee honored the U9 2018-2019 Holmdel Basketball Team during the May 14 township meeting. 

"We love to start our meetings in Holmdel with recognizing some of the great deeds of our future community and this is really exciting." said Hinds. "To find a way to win that at the early ages is a major accomplishment."

Sporting a record of 25-1 the U9 team won championship trophies in the Mid-Monmouth Playofffs and at the West Long Branch, Marlboro and Hazlet Tournaments. 

Sign Up for E-News

During the meeting, the team and their coaches were congratulated on the hard work it takes to be so successful. These 13 hardworking boys illustrated what positive teamwork is all about. See video below (courtesy of CILU)

The resolution states:


WHEREAS the U9 Boys 2018-2019 Holmdel Basketball Team finished their season with a record of 25-1; and

WHEREAS, the team took home the championship trophies in the Mid-Monmouth Playoffs and at the West Long Branch, Marlboro, and Hazlet Tournaments; and

WHEREAS, the only loss of the season was to Marlboro by two points but the boys came back to defeat them in the Mid-Monmouth Playoffs as well as each of the three tournaments they entered; and

WHEREAS, these 13 smart, hardworking players competed with each other every day at practice and their consistent efforts provided them with the confidence to play against any team; and

WHEREAS, this competitive mindset was most evident when the team was down six points against Fair Haven with less than three minutes left and landed a one-point victory in the MidMonmouth Semi-Finals; and

WHEREAS, the boys were guided to victory and also taught to show respect for the game, other teams and referees by Head Coach Rich Dormer and Assistant Coaches Mark Bronowich and Sean O’Connor; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Mayor and Township Committee of the Township of Holmdel on this 21st day of May 2019 that congratulations be extended to the following, both personally and officially on behalf of the residents of the community for their outstanding achievements: Andrew Mardahaev, Anthony Bavaro, Anthony Serini, Daniel Lavan, David Perrotti, Dylan Enrico, Elliot Bronowich, Gavin Schmitt, Isaiah Stone, JD Dormer, Kyle Silberman, Turner Foster, and Tyler O’Connor.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the team as a small token of the esteem in which they are held; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that all best wishes be extended to all for continued success in all of their endeavors.
Holmdel Township Committee
Eric Hinds, Mayor
Attest: Wendy L Patrovich, RMC/CMR