HOLMDEL, NJ - The Holmdel Board of Education reorganized on January 8. The meeting lasted less than half an hour with a small crowd of mostly family members, union representatives and school staff. The members of the Board of Education for 2020 are:

  • Eileen Briamante
  • Jamie Collins
  • Victoria Flynn
  • Brian Foster
  • Joseph Hammer - Newly re-elected
  • Peter Reddy
  • Mike Sockol - Newly re-elected
  • Elizabeth Urbanski - Newly elected
  • Terence wall

The two main events were the swearing in to new three year terms for board members Hammer, Urbanski and Sockol. Board of Education attorney Paul Green swore in the newly elected board members. Mike Sockol's November election was quite close, with fellow board member Lori Ammirati just a few votes short of him. During a recount he ultimately won. Elizabeth Urbanski is starting her first term of office. Urbanski is a 1985 graduate of Holmdel High School.  Board Member Hammer previously served as Board President and is returning after one year hiatus.

For Board of Education President for the year, the board chose Victoria Flynn for 2020. In his first role as officer, Mike Sockol was chosen to serve as Vice-President for 2020.

Sign Up for Holmdel & Colts Neck Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

In other business, the board accepted with appreciation, regret and congratulations, the resignation of Assistant Business Administrator Danielle Mancuso effective February 18, 2020. Mancuso  accepted the role of Business Administrator in another district.

There are no questions or comments from the small number of folks present and adjourned in one of the fastest meetings in recent memory.