TRENTON, NJ -- New Jersey has updated its list of 33 states and territories -- near and far -- from which people should self-quarantine for 14 days after visiting. The states include populous states such as Texas, Florida and California, as well as remote locations including Montana, Idaho,and Puerto Rico. Nearby New York, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Delaware and Pennsylvania are on the "safe" list. However, Maryland is on the quarantine list. 

In addition to the Virgin Islands, the updated advisory includes two additional states Hawaii and South Dakota. Concurrently, Alaska, New Mexico, Ohio, and Rhode Island have been removed from the list. The travel advisory applies to any person arriving from a state or territory with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or a state with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

As of Tuesday, August 11, the following states and territories meet the criteria stated above: Alabama; Arkansas; Arizona; California; Florida; Georgia; Hawaii; Iowa; Idaho; Indiana; Illinois; Kansas; Kentucky; Louisiana; Maryland; Minnesota; Missouri; Mississippi; Montana; North Carolina; North Dakota; Nebraska; Nevada; Oklahoma; South Carolina; South Dakota; Tennessee; Texas; Utah; Virginia; Wisconsin; Puerto Rico; and the Virgin Islands.

Sign Up for Jersey City Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

On Tuesday, Gov. Murphy tweeted that New Jersey has 498 new positive cases, pushing the state's cumulative total to 185,475. The governor also reported 14 new confirmed COVID-19 deaths – four on Aug. 7, three on Aug. 4, five in July, and two in April – for a new total of 14,037 New Jerseyans lost to the disease.

Sign up for TAPinto E-News alerts to be the first to read about all things local!

Download the FREE TAPinto App!  Click here for Android - Click here for iOS for breaking news, traffic/weather alerts and special offers.