Health & Wellness

76 New Nurses Graduate the Trinitas School of Nursing

76 New Nurses Graduate the Trinitas School of Nursing Credits: Trinitas Regional Medical Center

ELIZABETH, NJ - Seventy-six students received their nursing diplomas at the Trinitas School of Nursing's 160th Convocation Ceremony held recently at St. Michael's Church in Cranford. 

Surrounded by family, friends, and staff that supported their efforts every step of the way, sixty-eight women and eight men proudly accepted their pins and became eligible to sit for the registered nurse licensing exam.

"The Trinitas School of Nursing is excited for the Class of May 2018 and their accomplishments," said Donna Penn, Dean of the Trinitas School of Nursing, which is affiliated with Union County College, and also awards Associates in Science Degrees to the graduates. "We are looking forward to an exciting year ahead. The administration, faculty and staff are committed to the success of all our nursing students through the use of innovative strategies to promote student success in the classroom."

Sign Up for E-News

The ceremony began with "America the Beautiful," sung by graduate nurses Kelly Naomi Denito Morales & Maja A. Morales sister's from Garwood. 

The Senior Class Address was delivered by graduate nurse Mark V. DeGuzman from Union, and welcoming remarks were made by graduate nurse Tara Ashley Weaver of Linden.

Graduates of the School of Nursing include: Viola Adjei, Maria A. Angulo Aliaga, Obinna C. Anyanwu,  Lauren A. Blazewicz, Nicole L. Boone, Samantha Irene Borello, Fernanda Caetano, Esteban Carrion-Ambrosi, Maria Anna L. Cirio, Jill A. Colacurto, Mark V. Deguzman, Stephanie E. Derosena, Daphnee A. Desir Pierre-Paul, Shalanena E. Dickerson, Eliane Duarte Barbosa, Amber I. Dunbar, Shanee Ellington, Lilian E. Emesue, Grace Celeste D. Faigao, Katarina F. Farina, Saidy C. Fernandez, Diana M. Garcia, Tsega Ghebremicael, Ashley E. Godtel, Najah R. Goodman, Michelle L. Hasenauer, Jomo J. Haywood, Patricia Herman, Shirley M. Jeffcoat, Erica L. Johnson-Wicker, Woodley Jolibois, Faith N. Kavoi, Ernande L. Lamothe, Jenmy J. Landaverde, Alejandra Lasso, Alleah Deena M. Lopez, Kenny Mah, William J. Maia, Marica Lanina Maningas, Yamiry Marrero, Daniela Martinez Bolanos, Anjela Clariz Castro Mascarinas, Carolina V. Melo, Chelsea N. Mendoza, Edith Montero, Kelly Naomi Benito Morales, Maja A. Morales, Kaitlyn N. Montgomery, Leah V. Netta, Bernice A. Ntim, Tanika T. O'Loughlin, Laury Occean, Jennifer M. Oliveira, Stephanie Perez, Brittany Perkins, Monica J. Pisciotta, Liliana Elizabeth Ramos Moposita, Mirian Ramos, Claudia A. Rebelo, Ana I. Rios, Gina M. Romani, Andrea K. Romero Lodato, Ashley M. Rubertone, Donna Ruiz, Damian Samuels, Dana M. Savino, Jamerys R. Sigaran, Sharon Y. Smith, Marangelly Andrea Soto, Amanda C. Tompkins, Eileen A. Urbina-Martinez, Alejandra Valdez, Lisa L. Villaggio, Bennett T. Wacaster, Jessica C. Wade, and Tara Ashley Weaver.

Additional awards were given to graduates as follows: 

First Scholarship Award, Jill A. Colacurto (Staten Island, NY) 

Second Scholarship Award, Jessica C. Wade (Staten Island, NY) 

Auxiliary Award, Alejandra Lasso (Elizabeth) 

2018 Nursing Service Professional Transformation Award, Maja A. Morales (Garwood) 

Lily Bierstein Memorial Award, Jessica C. Wade (Staten Island, NY) Gerontological Nursing Award, Jomo J. Haywood (Berkeley Heights) Alumni Association Award, Sharon Smith (Jersey City) 

Curtis Crumbley Memorial Award, Eileen A. Urbina-Martinez (Elizabeth) Naeisha Massenburg Memorial Award, Edith Montero (Elizabeth) 

George F. Billington Leadership Award, Mark V. Deguzman (Union) 

The Carole Stavitiski Giving Back Award, Gina Romani (Staten Island, NY) Emily H. Wall Memorial Award, Amanda C. Tompkins (Rahway)

Trinitas School of Nursing, operated jointly by Trinitas Regional Medical Center and Union County College, currently holds full accreditation from the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN), and the New Jersey State Board of Nursing. 

The National League for Nursing has awarded the School of Nursing a third designation as a Center of Excellence in Nursing Education status for the years 2015 - 2020 for Creating Environments that Enhance Student Learning and Professional Development.  All eligible faculty hold certifications as NLN Certified Nurse Educators (CNE).  The School also holds a 20-year, 40-class national licensing examination (NCLEX) passage rate of 97% on first writing. is Elizabeth’s free daily news source. Sign up for our daily eNews and follow us on Facebook at and Twitter @TAPElizabeth. 

Download the TAPinto App!   Click here for Android.  Click here for iOS.



TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News


Cranford Jaycees Annual Golf Outing Raises Money For Community

July 18, 2018

CRANFORD, NJ - The Township of Cranford Junior Chamber of Commerce (“Jaycees”) held their 12th Annual Golf Outing on Friday, June 22, 2018, at the Galloping Hill Golf Course in Kenilworth. The outing raised $8,000.00 which will benefit two worthy community organizations, the Cranford Baseball and Softball League Inc. and the Union County Educational Services Commission ...

Mayors Push for Law Permitting Driver's License for Immigrants

July 20, 2018

PERTH AMBOY, NJ - Five mayors from northern and central New Jersey today called for passage of a state law permitting immigrants to get driver's licenses even if they are undocumented, saying it boosts public safety as well as the economy.

"This is important for every resident for a better life and a better life for the state of New Jersey," said Perth Amboy Mayor Wilda ...

Tired of cronyism? Yeah, us too

July 21, 2018

The Union County Freeholders’ decision to appoint State Senator and newly-elected Union County Democratic Chairman, Nick Scutari’s chief of staff, Ed Oatman as County Manager smelled of corruption from the start. To place a political consultant like Oatman in the role of overseeing 2,800 employees and running the day-to-day operations of the $500 million county budget suggests ...

Union County Summer Arts Festival Continues July 25 at Echo Lake Park Featuring The Vinny’s & Katfish Lucy

July 22, 2018

The Union County Summer Arts Festival concert series continues on Wednesday, July 25, with the Vinny’s & Katfish Lucy taking the stage at Echo Lake Park in Mountainside.

The free concert series is presented by the Union County Board of Chosen Freeholders and the Department of Parks and Recreation. The Summer Arts Festival concert series is held at Echo Lake Park during the month of ...

Crowdfunding Options for Entrepreneurs and Small Businesses

Source: Many small start-up businesses and tech ventures in search of capital turn to popular online platforms for crowd fundraising of financial resources to get their concept off the ground and launched into market. Indiegogo, Kickstarter, and GoFundMe, to name a few, offer solutions in generating cash to fund new ideas. How do you get people to contribute to your cause?  Sam Burlum ...