KENILWORTH, NJ- David Brearley High School has two weeks left to collect canned food donations for this year’s Union County Student Training and Enrichment Program’s “Kans for Kids” civic engagement challenge.

High schools across the county participate in UC STEP, sponsored by the Union County Board of Chosen Freeholders, which teaches students leadership, responsibility and personal growth skills. The civic engagement challenge requires them to create and enact a community-wide service based on a student-nominated topic. The topic is chosen through online polling and votes at the annual UC STEP summit.

This year’s topic, “Kans for Kids,” strives to collect cans of nutritious foods that the students will use to build a construction project.

Sign Up for Kenilworth Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Kans 4 Kids” is a collection project that will focus on the collection of nutritious canned items that they will turn into “can-struction,“ the UC STEP website reads. “The structure building competition will be the finale of the project as each school strives to have the best-looking display.”

All proceeds of the project benefit the Community Foodbank of New Jersey in Hillside. The participating schools can gain points to help them win by participating in the food drive, the “canstruction” project, volunteer opportunities, a virtual food drive and more. The school that wins the competition may receive the “Start Now” grant according to the UC STEP website.

“The school that shows the most involvement, enthusiasm, and creativity for the project is eligible to win the $1,000 START NOW Grant from the Union County Board of Chosen Freeholders,” the UC STEP website reads.

The end date of the project is scheduled for April 29 at the Community Foodbank of New Jersey in Hillside, N.J.

According to the UC STEP website, the participating high schools are: John E. Dwyer Technology Academy, Linden High School, David Brearley High School, Union County Vo Tech, Union Catholic Regional High School, Roselle Park High School, Rahway High School, Cranford High School, The Barack Obama Academy for Academic & Civic Development Charter School, Jonathan Dayton High School, Arthur L. Johnson High School, Governor Livingston High School, New Providence High School, St. Mary of the Assumption High School and Scotch Plains-Fanwood High School.

More information can be found on