LIVINGSTON, NJ — Minseo Yang of Livingston was recently named among 23 students from New Jersey’s 11th Congressional District who have been appointed and accepted offers to the United States service academies.

Congresswoman Mikie Sherrill, representative for NJ-11, hosted a virtual reception last week to honor the 23 students who will be attending the U.S. Naval Academy, the U.S. Military Academy, the U.S. Air Force Academy and the U.S. Coast Guard Academy. Yang and 10 others, including two students from neighboring West Orange and one from Caldwell, will be attending the U.S. Military Academy.

“This year’s class of service academy appointees from our community is extraordinary,” said Sherrill. “They already understand the importance of service and commitment to our country’s values. I know I speak on behalf of our entire community when I say we are proud of these students, and we wish them the best as they head to a bright future. I also want to thank the dedicated volunteers who made up my Nomination Board for their thoughtful and critical input.”

Sign Up for Livingston Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Sherrill personally nominated 12 of the appointees, and eight appointees were nominated by other sources, including Sen. Bob Menendez and Sen. Cory Booker. (Appointees to the U.S. Coast Guard Academy do not require congressional nominations.)

Below is a full list of the 23 NJ-11 students attending military service academies:

James Carlson-Zyats, Whippany – U.S. Naval Academy

Christopher Civetta, Randolph – U.S. Naval Academy

Olivia Hunt, Madison – U.S. Naval Academy

Elijah Millington, West Orange – U.S. Naval Academy

Izabella Peralta, Wanaque – U.S. Naval Academy

William Schiffenhaus, Montclair – U.S. Naval Academy

Connor Startzel, Morristown – U.S. Naval Academy

Luc Bay, Mountain Lakes – U.S. Coast Guard Academy

Amanda Piszczatoski, Wayne – U.S. Coast Guard Academy

Joshua Soca, Bloomfield – U.S. Coast Guard Academy

Paul Rickershauer, Morristown – U.S. Air Force Academy

Annalise Webber, Morris Plains – U.S. Air Force Academy

Tietjen Spoor, New Vernon – U.S. Military Academy

Kerry Colford, Mendham – U.S. Military Academy

Mackenzie Courtright, Caldwell – U.S. Military Academy

Christian Dionisio, Verona – U.S. Military Academy

John Livingstone, Pompton Plains – U.S. Military Academy

Vanessa Lettman, West Orange – U.S. Military Academy

Tyler Morris, Towaco – U.S. Military Academy

Pierce Moul, West Orange – U.S. Military Academy

Melissa Rankel, Morris Plains – U.S. Military Academy

Edward Wolf, Wayne – U.S. Military Academy

Minseo Yang, Livingston – U.S. Military Academy