TRENTON, NJ — Residents of New Jersey are advised to quarantine if they are returning to the Garden State from 38 states or territories—a new high for that total since the state began issuing the list back in June.

Regardless of the mode of transportation—bus, airplane, train, car, etc.—travelers from the "hotspot" areas are recommended to get tested and observe a 14-day self-quarantine. 

“As cases have increased within our own state, and we work to contain clusters, it is vital to ensure that we are taking all steps necessary to stop the further spread of COVID-19 from out of state,” said Gov. Phil Murphy as the list was updated Tuesday to include Michigan, Ohio and Virginia.

Sign Up for Livingston Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

State health officials advise people entering the Garden State to fill out an electronic survey as part of efforts to mitigate spread of the respiratory illness. The survey can be found by texting “NJ Travel” to 898211, visiting, or scanning a QR code on posters at NJ airports.

Officials said areas considered “impacted states” for the virus have a positive COVID-19 test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or have a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average.

Individuals following voluntary self-quarantine should not leave their hotel or home unless they are attending to a medical matter, or need to acquire food or other essential items. 

According to Gov. Phil Murphy, the advisory does not apply to individuals who:

  • Passed through a designated state for a period of limited duration (i.e. less than 24 hours) through the course of travel.
  • Are passing through New Jersey on a layover for a period of limited duration (i.e. less than 24 hours) through the course of travel.
  • Are traveling to New Jersey for business matters that are exempted from the application of the travel advisory.
  • Are traveling to New Jersey and work in critical infrastructure fields, such as health care and federal, state and local law enforcement. Residents should consult with their employer regarding whether there is industry-specific guidance.

As of Tuesday, Oct. 13, the list looks as follows:

  • Alabama (added 6/24/20)
  • Alaska (re-added 9/1/20)
  • Arkansas (added 6/24/20)
  • Colorado (added 9/29/20)
  • Delaware (re-added 9/8/20)
  • Florida (added 6/24/20)
  • Georgia (added 6/30/20)
  • Guam (added 8/25/20)
  • Idaho (added 6/30/20)
  • Illinois (added 7/28/20)
  • Indiana (added 7/21/20)
  • Iowa (added 6/30/20)
  • Kansas (added 7/7/20)
  • Kentucky (added 7/28/20)
  • Louisiana (added 6/30/20)
  • Michigan (re-added 10/13/20)
  • Minnesota (re-added 9/22/20)
  • Mississippi (added 6/30/20)
  • Missouri (added 7/21/20)
  • Montana (re-added 9/1/20)
  • Nebraska (added 7/21/20)
  • Nevada (re-added 9/22/20)
  • New Mexico (re-added 10/6/20)
  • North Carolina (added 6/24/20)
  • North Dakota (added 7/21/20)
  • Ohio (re-added 10/13/20)
  • Oklahoma (added 7/7/20)
  • Puerto Rico (re-added 9/15/20)
  • Rhode Island (re-added 9/22/20)
  • South Carolina (added 6/24/20)
  • South Dakota (added 8/11/20)
  • Tennessee (added 6/30/20)
  • Texas (added 6/24/20)
  • Utah (added 6/24/20)
  • Virginia (re-added 10/13/20)
  • West Virginia (added 9/8/20)
  • Wisconsin (added 7/14/20)
  • Wyoming (added 9/22/20)

Note: Arizona was removed on Sept. 29, 2020; California, Hawaii and Maryland were removed on Sept. 15, 2020; the Virgin Islands were removed on Sept. 8, 2020; Washington was removed Aug. 11, 2020; and the District of Columbia was removed on Aug. 4, 2020.