CAMDEN, NJ — As of today, travelers coming into the Garden State from 31 states are advised to self-quarantine to cull the spread of COVID-19 with the pandemic intensifying across the country. 

“It is critically important that all New Jerseyans remain committed to beating COVID-19 by remaining vigilant and continuing our collective efforts to reduce new cases and the rate of transmission throughout the state,” said Governor Murphy in announcing an additional 10 states to the list Tuesday at midday.

The states added today include: Alaska, Delaware, Indiana, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, Virginia, and Washington. Minnesota was removed from the list but Delaware has returned after a brief moment off the list.

Sign Up for Madison Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

As of Monday, New Jersey has 176,983 cases of the virus. The United States has confirmed over 3.5 million cases and more than 140,000 deaths, according to the CDC. 

If you've traveled from any of the listed states below— considered hotspots for having a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or states with a 10% or higher positivity rate increase for a consecutive seven-day period — the state suggests you minimize contact with others:


  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin  

“In order to prevent additional outbreaks across New Jersey and continue with our responsible restart and recovery process, I strongly encourage all individuals arriving from these hotspot states to proactively get a COVID-19 test and self-quarantine," Murphy said.

Although penalties for travelers not adhering to the guidelines have yet to be announced, a new tracking system went online Monday.

Murphy said travelers from the above states should self-quarantine at their home or hotel, and only travel to obtain essential items and for medical emergencies. 

The state's travel advisory list is available here.

 Download the TAPinto mobile app for Androidor iOS.