Police & Fire

Madison Police Chief Appointed as 2018 President of the Morris County Police Chiefs Association

Madison Police Chief Darren Dachisen (left) and his father, Chief Steven “Skip” Dachisen became the second father-son duo to both serve as presidents of the Morris County Police Chiefs Association. Credits: Morris County Police Chiefs Association

Madison Police Chief Darren P. Dachisen, Sr. was sworn in on Tuesday as the 2018 president for the Morris County Police Chiefs Association at its annual installation and awards luncheon at Park Savoy Estates in Florham Park.

Butler Police Chief Ciro Chimento was appointed as vice president, Chester Police Chief Thomas Williver as sergeant-at-arms, Pequannock Township Police Chief Brian Spring as treasurer and Mount Olive Police Chief Stephen Beecher as secretary.

“It was a privilege to lead the Chiefs Association in 2017, and beneficial to me due to the increased exposure to issues I was involved with countywide,” said Mount Arlington Police Chief Keith Licata, the association’s president for 2017.

Sign Up for E-News

“I look forward to 2018 as Chief Dachisen brings his experience and perspective to the forefront of our Association,” said Licata, who has served as the Mount Arlington Police Chief since 2012 and is a graduate of the Federal Bureau of Investigations National Academy.

Dachisen is a 25-year, highly decorated veteran of the Madison Police Department. Prior to being appointed chief in 2013; he served as a detective, sergeant, and lieutenant commander of the patrol division. Both he and his father, retired Rockaway Township Police Chief Steven “Skip” Dachisen; were honored with plaques recognizing them as the second father-son duo to serve as presidents of the Morris County Police Chiefs Association.

On hand to witness the achievement were retired Mountain Lakes Police Chief Charles F. McCoy. McCoy and his father, Charles H. McCoy, who were the first father and son to accomplish the same feat. Charles H. was a former police chief in Boonton. Both served as presidents of the Chiefs Association in 1958 and 1997, respectively.

Catherine Broderick, former Supervising Assistant Prosecutor with the Morris County Prosecutor’s Office, was also recognized as the 2017 honorary chief of police for her outstanding assistance to the law enforcement community. She was a member of the Morris County Prosecutor’s Office since 1989 and has recently retired. Her last assignment was supervisor of the Specialized Services Unit. She is the 2016 recipient of the prestigious Professional Lawyer of the Year Award from the New Jersey Commission on Professionalism in Law.

The Morris County Police Chiefs Association was founded in 1955 to elevate policing standards and to improve and advance techniques, skills and training among all members and subordinates.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News


Brain Cancer Study Opens at Overlook Medical Center - One of Four Sites in Country

January 15, 2018

Kurt Jaeckle, MD, co-director of the Gerald J. Glasser Brain Tumor Center at Overlook Medical Center, and medical director of the Atlantic Center for Research, is leading a phase III study of novel drug VAL-083, which has already shown promise in Glioblastoma and other cancers.  The study is for patients whose glioblastoma multiforme or gliosarcoma has progressed during or after treatment ...

Madison Weather Alert: Blowing Snow Thursday; High Winds Friday

January 4, 2018

Extreme winter weather conditions have come to Madison in the form of a high-impact storm that could cause snow accumulations of up to six inches, according to the National Weather Service.

Flurries are expected to fall at a rate of one inch per hour through the early afternoon, according to a special weather statement issued at 9:49 a.m. by the National Weather Service. Roads will be ...

WalletHub Ranks NJ 2nd Worst State to Retire In

January 16, 2018

NJ — If it seems like everyone in New Jersey moves to Florida when it’s time to retire, there’s good reason. In a new study, finance website WalletHub ranks New Jersey the second worst state to retire in. Only Kentucky was ranked lower. Florida, on the other hand, was ranked no. 1.

WalletHub said it compared the 50 US states across 41 key metrics, with a data set ...


AtlantiCast Medical Minute – Winter Weather Edition

On this episode of AtlantiCast Medical Minute, learn how to take the fight to Old Man Winter, while staying safe! Learn some winter health tips with Anthony Brutico, MD, Medical Director of the Emergency Department at Newton Medical Center.