NEW JERSEY — If you’re currently traveling out of state or packing your bags in preparation, take note. 

Two states, Delaware and Alaska, were re-added Tuesday to New Jersey's self-quarantine travel advisory list— bringing it up to 35 states/territories. 

“We cannot allow the tremendous progress we’ve made on our road back to serve as an excuse to let our guard down,” said Murphy today. “It remains critically important for anyone arriving to New Jersey from these 35 states and territories to get tested for COVID-19 and self-quarantine for 14 days.”

Sign Up for Madison Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

The advisory extends to anyone coming into the Garden State on train, bus, car, airplane or any other method of travel. Officials said areas considered “impacted states” for the virus have a positive COVID-19 test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or have a 10% or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average ("impacted states.")

Those following voluntary self-quarantine should not leave their hotel or home unless they are attending to a medical matter, need to acquire food or other essential items. 

“As one example, no one who has traveled to or from a state on the COVID-19 hotspot list should be participating in or attending an in-person graduation ceremony,” the governor’s office said in a statement.

The updated list of areas following here.

According to Murphy, the advisory does not apply to individuals:

  1. Who passed through a designated state for a period of limited duration (i.e. less than 24 hours) through the course of travel.

  2. Who are passing through New Jersey on a layover for a period of limited duration (i.e. less than 24 hours) through the course of travel.

  3. Who are traveling to New Jersey for business matters that are exempted from the application of the travel advisory.

  4. Who are traveling to New Jersey and work in critical infrastructure fields, such as health care and federal, state and local law enforcement. Consult with your employer regarding whether there is industry-specific guidance that may apply to you.

As of Tuesday, the list includes: 

  • Alabama (added 6/24/20)
  • Alaska (re-added 8/18/20)
  • Arkansas (added 6/24/20)
  • Arizona (added 6/24/20)
  • California (added 6/30/20)
  • Delaware (re-added 8/18/20)
  • Florida (added 6/24/20)
  • Georgia (added 6/30/20)
  • Hawaii (added 8/11/20)
  • Idaho (added 6/30/20)
  • Iowa (added 6/30/20)
  • Illinois (added 7/28/20)
  • Indiana (added 7/21/20)
  • Kansas (added 7/7/20)
  • Kentucky (added 7/28/20)
  • Louisiana (added 6/30/20)
  • Maryland (added 7/21/20)
  • Minnesota (re-added 7/28/20)
  • Mississippi (added 6/30/20)
  • Missouri (added 7/21/20)
  • Montana (added 7/21/20)
  • Nebraska (added 7/21/20)
  • Nevada (added 6/30/20)
  • North Carolina (added 6/24/20)
  • North Dakota (added 7/21/20)
  • Oklahoma (added 7/7/20)
  • Puerto Rico (added 7/28/20)
  • South Carolina (added 6/24/20)
  • South Dakota (added 8/11/20)
  • Tennessee (added 6/30/20)
  • Texas (added 6/24/20)
  • Utah (added 6/24/20)
  • Virginia (added 7/21/20)
  • Virgin Islands (added 8/11/20)
  • Wisconsin (added 7/14/20)