Ten Madison High School Seniors Recognized for Academic Success

(Left to right): Principal Greg Robertson, Michael Sutton, Natalie Azzolini, Olivia Kranefuss, Madeline Carroll, Amy Zhang, Meera Parikh, Melody Ding and Kyle Han. Absent: Chris Butler, Aidan Carter Credits: Madison High School

MADISON, NJ – Ten Madison High School seniors have been named “Commended Students” in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship program, according to Greg Robertson, the school’s principal.

Robertson will present each student with a letter of commendation from the school and the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, the program’s coordinator.

Recognized students include Natalie Azzolini, Christopher Butler, Madeline Carroll, Aidan Carter, Melody Ding, Kyle Han, Olivia Kranefuss, Meera Parikh, Michael Sutton and Amy Zhang.

Sign Up for E-News

“The young men and women being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” said a spokesperson for National Merit. “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation.”

“We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for academic excellence through this program. Although they will not continue in the 2018 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, some of these students may become candidates for special scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses.

Commended Students place among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2018 competition by taking the 2016 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

For more information about the program, click here.


TAP Into Another Town's News:

Sign Up for E-News


F.M. Kirby Children’s Center of the Madison Area YMCA Students Sing, Dance and Laugh to the Music of Lovey Williams

April 16, 2018

Lovey Williams created joyful noise and music with the students of the F.M. Kirby Children’s Center of the Madison Area YMCA to kick off the Week of the Young Child that runs through Friday April 20. Students engaged in music by singing, dancing and playing instruments to their favorite songs at their annual Lovey Williams Concert. The Week of the Young Child celebrates early learning, ...

Letter to the Editor: Don't Complain. Vote!

April 14, 2018

Don’t Complain; Vote!

It’s no secret that people have strong feelings about what’s happening in our country. It’s also true that much of politics is local. In November, 11th District residents will have the opportunity to choose a new congressional representative who will not only serve as a critical check on the federal level, but also determine how our distract fares ...