This Weekend: Fourth Annual Morristown Festival of Books

24891125f8dddfd35790_MotownFestofBooks2017.jpg
The fourth annual Morristown Festival of Books takes place Oct. 13 and 14 on South Street. Credits: Morristown Festival of Books
24891125f8dddfd35790_MotownFestofBooks2017.jpg

MORRISTOWN, NJ – Morristown Festival of Books is thrilled to announce its much-anticipated fourth annual event on Saturday, Oct. 14! Keynote speaker and Pulitzer Prize winner Ron Chernow, whose best-selling book inspired the musical hit “Hamilton,” kicks off the festival weekend on Friday, Oct. 13 with a discussion of his newest biography, “Grant.”

The all-day, free Oct. 14 festival features more than 40 award-winning fiction, nonfiction, poetry, children’s and young adult authors.

Bring your families and friends and join the Morristown community in celebrating the power of the written word! The featured award-winning and best-selling authors will speak and answer questions at five different locations—all within walking distance—along South Street in historic Morristown, including St. Peter’s Church Sanctuary and Parish House, Church of the Redeemer, the Morristown/Morris Township Library and the Starlight Room at the Mayo Performing Arts Center.

Sign Up for E-News

Pulitzer Prize winner and poet Paul Muldoon; novelists Alice Hoffman, Tess Gerritsen, Lincoln Child, Megan Miranda and Min Jin Lee; nonfiction writers David Grann, Chris Whipple and Bianca Bosker; young adult novelists Libba Bray, Scott Westerfeld, and Daniel José Older and best-selling children’s authors Kate DiCamillo, Laurie Hernandez, Cressida Cowell and Laurie Berkner, as well as Jacky Davis and David Soman, the husband-wife creative team behind the popular “Ladybug Girl” series.

Also in attendance will be award-winning singer and songwriter Laurie Berkner, whose best-selling hit, “We Are the Dinosaurs,” is now a picture book; Cressida Cowell, whose best-selling “How to Train Your Dragon” series inspired the popular animated films; Jacky Davis and David Soman, husband-and-wife authors of the best-selling “Ladybug Girl;” and gold medal-winning Olympic gymnast and “Dancing with the Stars” champion Laurie Hernandez, whose memoir will captivate fans of all ages.

The young adult authors featured at this year’s festival are equally impressive. Fans of Libba Bray’s “The Diviners” and Daniel José Older’s “Shadowshaper” will be thrilled to hear from the authors themselves about “Before the Devil Breaks You” and “Shadowhouse Fall”—the latest installments in their respective series.

Comic fans who enjoy dark and twisted sci-fi will also want to take advantage of this wonderful opportunity to hear New York Times best-selling author Scott Westerfeld talk about the first volume of his original graphic novel series, “Spill Zone.”

In addition to offerings for children and young adults, history buffs and nonfiction lovers will be excited to hear that The New Yorker staff writer David Grann will be discussing his masterpiece of narrative nonfiction, “Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI”—a twisting, haunting true-life murder mystery about one of the most monstrous crimes in American history.

Other nonfiction titles that are sure to appeal to many festival attendees include Bianca Bosker’s “Cork Dork: A Wine-Fueled Adventure Among the Obsessive Sommeliers,” “Big Bottle Hunters, and Rogue Scientists Who Taught Me to Live for Taste” and Chris Whipple’s “The Gatekeepers: How the White House Chiefs of Staff Define Every Presidency.”

Fiction lovers will be thrilled by the vast array of novelists featured at the festival including Alice Hoffman (“The Rules of Magic”), Tess Gerritsen (“I Know a Secret: A Rizzoli & Isles Novel”), Lincoln Child (“Full Wolf Moon: A Novel”), Megan Miranda (“The Perfect Stranger”) and Min Jin Lee (“Pachinko”).

Festival goers will also have the pleasure of hearing poetry for the first time at the Morristown Festival of Books! Irish poet and Pulitzer Prize winner Paul Muldoon will read from his latest collection, “Selected Poems 1968-2014.”

Book sales and signings will occur at a tent on the grounds of the historic Vail Mansion.

The Oct. 13 keynote event is generously sponsored by Investors Bank. The Oct. 14 festival is presented by Morgan Stanley Private Wealth Management.

Morristown Festival of Books is a nonprofit organization that proudly supports literacy and education in our community, this year through a partnership with the Morris Educational Foundation.

For more information, go to www.morristownbooks.org and please like us on Facebook!

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News

Madison

Metropolitan Orchestra of New Jersey Spring Concert Set for Next Month

May 25, 2018

Now in its 46th season, the Metropolitan Orchestra of New Jersey will present its spring concert Sunday, June 10 at 3 p.m. inside Madison High School, 170 Ridgedale Ave.

Maestro Michael Stratechuk will lead the orchestra in the performance of Gabriel Faure's "Pelleas and Melisande" and Lars-Erik Larsson's "Concertino for Viola and String Orchestra" ...

SURVIVING A STROKE: Quick Medical Response Gives Mom Her Life Back

Carotid artery dissection. It’s one of the most common causes of stroke in younger adults.

And while you might not associate the word “stroke” with younger patients, the condition – if not treated immediately – could lead to paralysis and even death.

Lindsey Singh can attest to the importance of immediacy. The 31-year-old mother of two from Flanders experienced ...

Vehicular Homicide Charges for Driver of Paramus School Bus

May 24, 2018

MORRISTOWN, NJ - The driver of a school bus involved in a crash on Route 80 last week that killed two people faces two counts of second-degree vehicular homicide/death by auto, local and state authorities announced Thursday morning.

The driver, Hudy Muldrow, 77, of Woodland Park, attempted to make an illegal U-Turn on the highway in an attempt to find his way to Waterloo Village, the ...

AtlantiCast

AtlantiCast: Episode 15

On this week’s AtlantiCast, learn some important tips for controlling and avoiding diabetes from an Atlantic Health System expert, see how Atlantic Health is advancing cutting-edge research, hear what’s being done to keep health care environmentally friendly and much more!