NEW JERSEY — The list of travelers urged to self-quarantine for 14 days if they're arriving in New Jersey continues to grow.
On Tuesday, Gov Phil Murphy said the COVID-19 advisory — which currently totals 22 states — will now include Minnesota, New Mexico, Ohio and Wisconsin.
Monitoring at Garden State airports won't be as stringent as in New York, however, where travelers must fill out a form including details on their trip and contact information — or else face a $2,000 fine.
“New York and New Jersey do things a little bit differently. I don’t know that we will be fining people," the governor said during a Q 104.3-FM radio interview in New York City. "But we are aggressively pursuing public relations and begging people for personal responsibility.”
Eighteen other states, since Delaware was removed from the list, are considered "hot spots" over having a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.
Those states also include:
- North Carolina
- South Carolina
“We must remain vigilant and committed to our collective effort of beating COVID-19 and reducing the rate of transmission throughout New Jersey,” Murphy said in a statement. “In order to continue moving forward with New Jersey’s restart and recovery process, I strongly urge individuals arriving from these 22 states to self-quarantine and proactively get a COVID-19 test to prevent hotspots from flaring up across our state.”
The list of state's the advisory applies to is updated here.
Get your local news delivered to your inbox for FREE each day. Sign up to get all the news as it happens at www.TAPinto.net/enews and follow us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/MadisonTAP/ and on Twitter at @MadisonTAP to get all the news as it happens
Celebrating Something Special? Showcase Your Wedding, Christening, Bar/Bat Mitzvah, Graduation, Reunion and MORE on TAPinto Milestones