MILLBURN, NJ — Earlier this week, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced its annual list of semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program.

And in an indicator of the Millburn School District's academic successes, a bevy of Millburn High school students made the cut into the semifinal round. Their names are listed below:

  • Alison Araten
  • Sydney Brenton
  • Keshab Gatehouse
  • Devin Genderson
  • Agnes Han
  • Beatrice Han
  • Ethne Laude
  • Prisha Mehta
  • Devdutt Nadkarni
  • Jacob D. Popolow
  • William Qin
  • Sachin Sahay
  • Milo Stone
  • Liwei Sun
  • Anthony Tang
  • Harriet Xu

According to the organization's own information NMSC is a not-for-profit established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 400 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.

Sign Up for Millburn/Short Hills Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

This year, more than 16,000 Semifinalists were announced in the 66th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. They will be in competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $30 million that will be offered next Spring.

To become a Finalist, the Semifinalist and a high school official must submit a detailed scholarship application, in which they provide information about the Semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received.

A Semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, and write an essay.

National Merit Scholarship winners of 2021 will be announced in four nationwide news releases beginning in April and concluding in July. These scholarship recipients will join more than 353,000 other distinguished young people who have earned the Merit Scholar title.

TAPinto Millburn/Short Hills salutes our local scholarship semifinalists for their dedication to academic excellence.