Eight senior students from Millburn High School have been selected as Semifinalists in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Competition.  They are Jonah Birnberg, Andrew Brod, Dana Ettinger, Saachi Gupta, Joshua Klieger, Theodore Moskovitz, Hannah Park and Yan Wang.

These academically talented students may now be considered for some 8,300 National Merit Scholarships, which will be announced in the spring of 2013 To become Finalists, Semifinalists must maintain a record of very high academic performance, be endorsed and recommended by their school principal, and earn SAT scores that confirm their earlier qualifying test performance.  They also must submit a detailed scholarship application, which includes the student’s self-descriptive essay and information about the Semifinalist’s participation and leadership in school and community activities. From this year’s approximately 16,000 Semifinalists, about 15,000 are expected to advance to the Finalist level, and in February they will be notified of this designation.

 About 1.5 million juniors in more than 22,000 U.S. high schools entered the 2013 National Merit Scholarship program by taking the 2011 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).  The nationwide pool of 16,000 Semifinalists, which represents less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest scoring entrants in each state. The number of Semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.

 National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the academic competition, is a privately financed, not-for-profit corporation established in 1955.  Merit Scholarship awards are underwritten by NMSC’s own funds as well as by approximately 500 business organizations and higher education institutions.