MILLBURN, NJ - Millburn High School Principal Dr. William Miron announced today that eighteen senior students from Millburn High School have been selected as Semifinalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Competition.  They are William Cerulli, Alexander Chen, Andrew Chen, Rachel Cifu, Julian Fox, Katharine Fox, Tejas Gupta, Arnold Jia, Max Koenig, Helen Liu, Rahul Prakash, John Sanchez, Armaan Singh, Sanjana Sinkar, Ariel Stein, Warren Xia, Katherine Zhong and Brian Zhu.

They are among 16,000 Semifinalists nationwide, the highest-scoring entrants in each state on the 2017 PSAT/NMSQT. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title.

                                                                                                                                                                                                          Millburn High School also has 32 students who have been named as Commended Scholars.  34,000 students, more than two-thirds of the 50,000 high scorers receive Letters of Commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise.  

Sign Up for E-News

Millburn’s Commended Scholars are:

Tyler Adelman, Tyler Bernard, Nidhi Bhatt, Sarah Burn, Javier Coindreau, Jake Garfinkle, Karna Goswami, Molly Grazioso, Emma Hou, Len Hubert, Sarah Klimek, Steffen Kulp, Zimri Leisher, Hazel Leonard, Alexander Long, Ethan Mak, Celia Mathay, Ranen Miao, Brahmteg Minhas, Abhay Pant, Joshua Park, Hayden Shaw, Ethan Steinberg, David Sternlieb, Eric Wang, Arthur Wayne, Matthew Wroblewski, Andy Xia, Karen Xu, Claire Yan, Kyle Yang, Derek Zhou.

About 1.6 million juniors in more than 22,000 U.S. high schools entered the 2019 National Merit Scholarship program by taking the 2017 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). The number of Semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors. To ensure that academically talented young people from all parts of the United States are included in this talent pool, Semifinalists are designated on a state representational basis. They are the highest scoring entrants in each state.