Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Christine Burton and Dr. William Miron, principal of Millburn High School, announce the 2021 Junior Awards, presented annually to rising seniors. These are awards that are given to high school juniors who show outstanding promise and accomplishments.

32 MHS juniors received Junior Awards this year. These awards are given to outstanding high school juniors by colleges and universities or their local alumni organizations.  There are also special honors awarded by the state, local organizations and corporations.

Yuliu Huang received the Brandeis University Book Award, given to an outstanding high school junior in the top 10% of the class who demonstrates a commitment to civic engagement, community service, political activism, social justice, or volunteer work.

Sign Up for Millburn/Short Hills Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

The Brown University Book Award is presented to a junior who exhibits excellent verbal and written communication skills.  The award itself is a book written by a Brown University faculty member or alumnus. This year’s award goes to Sophia Wang.

Gabrielle Hrung earned the Bryn Mawr College Book Award, which is offered to a young woman in the junior class who exhibits a true love of learning and intellectual curiosity about the world around her.

Sophie Grossman is the recipient of the Chatham University Rachel Carson Healthy Planet Book Award, which is awarded to a high school junior who embodies the spirit of Rachel Carson in his or her dedication to sustainability and community development.

The Clarkson University Book Award goes to Roberto Prieto and Ron Zuckerman in recognition of their strong leadership qualities, positive impacts on their high school and local community, and proven academic record.

Margaret Zhu earned the Columbia University Club of Northern New Jersey Book Award.  The club presents the Concise Columbia Encyclopedia to a current junior for academic excellence in the fields of history or the humanities. 

The Cornell Book Award is given for outstanding academic accomplishment and leadership in the area of community service to Aaron Chan.

The Oberlin College Book Award is presented to an exceptional student who has shown a commitment to science. This award goes to Daniel Boyko

The Princeton University Book Award is being presented to Eric Dong.  This award is presented to a junior who ranks in the top 5% of his or her class and has demonstrated outstanding leadership and community service.

Nikhil Bansal earned the Randolph College Book Award, presented to a student who is academically strong and possesses leadership potential.

The Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Award is presented to an outstanding junior in math and science.  This year’s recipient is Eric Dong.

The Saint Anselm College Book Award is given to a junior who exercises the capacity for academic achievement and continued education, has an awareness of social responsibility, displays leadership qualities, and possesses a strong character.  Thaddeus Mahfouz earned this award.

Saint John's College Book Award is designed to recognize an exceptional high school junior for their intellectual curiosity, academic achievement and enduring interest in at least two of the following areas; philosophy, literature, science, mathematics or history. This award goes to Justin Eng.

Saint Lawrence University Book Award honors Ishaan Salhotra as a high school junior who has displayed a significant commitment to community service.  

Jeffrey Ho and Sophia Klymchuk are the recipients of the Saint Michael’s College Book Award. This award seeks to recognize two students, one male, one female, who exemplify academic achievement and social conscience, evidenced through commitment to community service, issues of peace and justice and concern for others.

The Smith College Book Award was given to Veronica Song.  This award is presented to an outstanding junior who exemplifies the academic achievement, leadership qualities, and concern for others that are characteristics of the women who have graduated from Smith College.

Aryan Dugar earned the Tulane University Book Award that recognizes a junior who has demonstrated excellence in academics, leadership, public service and embodies the motto "The needs of the many outweigh the needs of oneself."

The University of Chicago Book Award is given to a scholarly and dynamic junior who pursues course work in a diverse variety of subject areas and is known for making connections across academic disciplines. This year’s recipient is Hanmo Zhang.

Three students, Ryan Park, Liam Pilarski and Aaryan Pugazendhi, are receiving the University of Pennsylvania Book Award, sponsored by the Metropolitan New Jersey Alumni Club, is presented to 3 juniors who best exemplify the qualities of Benjamin Franklin:  a scholar, innovator, and community servant.  

Tarun Sethi earned the Frederick Douglass and Susan B. Anthony Award in the Humanities and Social Sciences.  This University of Rochester Award recognizes academic achievement of students who exemplify the revolutionary spirit of Douglass and Anthony.  It encourages an equal emphasis on study, community action, dialogue and excellence in rigorous courses taken in the humanities and social sciences.

The Wellesley College Club Book Award was given to Megan Klein.  This award is presented to a young woman whose academic record and character are exceptional and who has also made significant personal contributions to her schools and/or community.  

The recipient of the Wesleyan University Book Award is Eliana Warner. The award is given to a student who excels at a rigorous course of study and demonstrates independent thought and creative thinking consistent with the spirit of free and energetic inquiry.

This student also demonstrates extracurricular achievement, school leadership, community involvement or commitment to the arts. 

Jacqueline Zhou earned the Joseph I. Bookstaber Yale Book Award.  This award, given by the Yale Club of Central New Jersey is presented in memory of Joseph Bookstaber.  Bookstaber was a 1996 graduate of Millburn High School to a junior who exhibits outstanding personal character and intellectual promise, 

MHS Juniors have also been honored with the following 2021MHS Junior Awards 2021 special awards:

American Legion Boys State Leadership Conference

The Millburn Short Hills Chapter of the American Legion sponsors Millburn juniors each year to attend the American Legion Jersey Boys State Program, being held this year from June 16-21, 2019 at Rider University. The delegates selected by the local chapter and MHS Faculty. This year’s Delegates are Nicholas Starace, William Tokar, Sam Trachtman and Colin Woros. 

Bausch + Lomb Honorary Science Award  

Margaret Zhu received this award that honors outstanding high school science students who have demonstrated high achievement and rigor in science classes, along with positive contributions to their school and within the larger community.

George Eastman Young Leaders Award  

Awarded by the MHS faculty to a junior who exhibits strong leadership, high grades and extensive involvement in extracurricular activities. This year’s Young Leader’s award goes to Liliana Tomko.

Xerox Award for Innovation and Information Technology

Awarded to a junior who demonstrates outstanding achievements in computer science, enthusiasm in pursuit of innovative approaches and appreciation for the possibilities of technology. This award goes to Ryan Park.