MILLBURN, NJ - Chief Brian Gilfedder of the Millburn Police Department announced Valor Awards for seventeen members of the force stemming from an incident on May 25. 

Gilfedder described the incident where two Millburn residents were threatened at a house on Parsonage Hill Road with a long gun. The suspect then barricaded himself in the home in what became a roughly seven-hour standoff. After Emergency Services used two types of gases, the suspect fled the residence and was arrested. A bb gun, two shotguns and a rifle were found inside the home.  

Gilfedder said, "I just want to say how proud I am of the officers during this incident. It was very long and very strenuous. I think everyone did a great job, we worked well together."

Sign Up for E-News

Millburn Township Mayor Cheryl Burstein lauded the officers saying, "On behalf of the Township Committee and the residents of the Township of Millburn, we thank you for your hard work and all that you do for us."

The honorees are:

Officer Horace Giambattista
Sgt. Andrew DelRusso
Det. Lt. David Bonney
Det. Roberto Delgado
Det. John Mendelsohn
Sgt. Robert Kaiser
Officer David Pinero
Sgt. Adam Norris
Sgt. Jamal Poyner
Officer Erick Recinos
Officer Alyssa Salemi
Officer Michael O’Neill
Officer Matthew Wichelns
Officer Travis Jiroux
Officer Michael Goldfarb
Officer Collin McMillan
Det. Christopher DeRosa