Business & Finance

Millburn/Short Hills Chamber of Commerce Installs New Officers and Directors

Millburn/Short Hills Chamber Board of Directors and Officers for 2017-2018 Credits: TAPinto Millburn and Short Hills
Rick Davis, Claudia Karp, Michael McAvinue Credits: Jonathan Sym
Rick Davis, Michael McAvinue Credits: Jonathan Sym
Roxanne Giacalone, Rick Davis, Claudia Karp Credits: Jonathan Sym
Rick Davis, Jonathan Sym Credits: TAPinto Millburn and Short Hills
Roxanne Giacalone and Leigh Schaedel Credits: Jonathan Sym
Debbie Mayo and Lori Csik Credits: Jonathan Sym
Kim Kaminski and Julie London Credits: Jonathan Sym
Millburn/Short Hills Chamber of Commerce Annual Meeting Credits: Jonathan Sym
Millburn/Short Hills Chamber of Commerce Annual Meeting Credits: Jonathan Sym

MILLBURN, NJ – The Millburn/Short Hills Chamber of Commerce held its annual meeting and end of year dinner last week at La Pergola restaurant in downtown Millburn. The purpose of the meeting was to elect new officers and directors for the upcoming fiscal year and to honor two departing board members.

The “Chamber” is a nonprofit organization based in downtown Millburn, whose aims are to support and promote the interests of the business community in the Township.  The Chamber provides a welcoming environment to new and veteran business owners by helping to foster relationships amongst its members, advocating on behalf of its membership and promoting the general economic health and welfare of the Millburn/Short Hills community.

The Board of Directors unanimously voted for the following officers to serve the 2017-2018 fiscal year:

Sign Up for E-News

President; Rick Davis, Chief Financial Officer at St. Barnabas Medical Center

First Vice-President; Ralph Tarnofsky, President at Professional Audio Consultants

Vice President; Michael Cohn, Principal at Michael Cohn and Associates

Vice President; Kim Kaminski, Manager at Investors Bank

Co-Secretary; Marcella Gencarelli, Managing Director at Peapack-Gladstone Bank

Co-Secretary; Leigh Schaedel, Director of Special Events at Paper Mill Playhouse

Treasurer; Robert Renshaw, Senior Financial Strategist at Fountainhead Advisors

Executive Committee; Stephanie Murphy, Development Associate at Greenwood Gardens

Executive Committee; Richard Futter, Owner, Futters Shoes.

Immediate Past President; Mitchell Rait, Chief Executive Officer, Bud Larner PC.


The evening was also to give thanks to board members Michael McAvinue, General Manager of The Mall at Short Hills, who will be retiring this year and to Claudia Karp, Realtor at Weichert Realtors.


Several board members were re-elected to another term and four new board members were elected. New board members are;

Mohamed Awad; Director of Operations, Charlie Brown’s Fresh Grill

Vivian Cohen; Director of Events and Catering, Hilton Short Hills

Caroline Gosselin; Realtor, Prominent Properties/Sotheby's Int’l Realty

Debbie Mayo; Owner, UBreakiFix


Returning board members are:

Karen Howells; Realtor, Prominent Properties/Sotheby’s Int’l Realty

Dennis “Denny” Klein; President, Rand, Feuer and Klein

Ileana Martin-Novoa; Architect, Katz Novoa Architects

Fred Smith; Publisher, TAPinto SOMA

Jonathan Sym; Managing Editor, TAPinto Millburn/Short Hills

Pat von Seckendorff; General Manager, Tourbillion, Swatch Group USA

TAP Into Another Town's News:

Sign Up for E-News

Millburn/Short Hills

Video: Scoutmaster Ken Fineran Street Dedication Ceremony

May 21, 2018

MILLBURN, NJ - Millburn Township and Boy Scout Troop 17 of St. Rose of Lima honored the life and accomplishments of late Scoutmaster Kenneth W. Fineran on Sunday, May 20. Troop 17 Scouts, in conjunction with Millburn Township and St. Rose of Lima Church.

Millburn Student's Bike Stolen, Millburn Police Investigating

June 12, 2018

On June 5, 2018 Millburn Police Officer Tavares responded to the Louis Vuitton store at The Mall at Short Hills on a theft report. Louis Vuitton personnel report a black male with dread locks wearing a black t-shirt, red shorts, black leggings, and white/red sneakers took two pairs of sunglasses valued at $870.00 and left the store without making payment. The incident is under investigation by ...


AtlantiCast: Episode 16

Summer is in the air, and the latest episode of AtlantiCast is ready to help you enjoy some fun outdoors while staying safe! This week’s episode opens with tips for sunscreen usage from Atlantic Health System’s Chief Medical and Academic Officer, Dr. Jan Schwarz-Miller. You’ll also learn about how Atlantic Health System is advancing the future of health care through ...

Get Empowered to Help Prevent Suicide

June 12, 2018

Over the past week social media and the news have been filled with stories and articles encouraging people to seek help if they’re in emotional distress. There have been countless articles about the need to break the silence around the topic of mental health and suicide, and I am encouraged by the support people are extending to others.

Often, the death by suicide by prominent ...

Upcoming Events

Mon, June 18, 9:00 AM

The Cora Hartshorn Arboretum and Bird Sanctuary, Short Hills

"Pre-summer" Camp at the Cora Hartshorn Arboretum ...

Education Green

Mon, June 18, 9:00 AM

The Cora Hartshorn Arboretum and Bird Sanctuary, Short Hills

June Mini-Camp at the Cora Hartshorn Arboretum - ...

Education Green

Fri, June 22, 8:00 PM

Education Center, West Orange

Night Moves: Evening Guided Zoo Tours

Education Other


Sun, June 24, 11:00 AM


MakerFest 2018

Canada Goose Retail Expansion Includes The Mall at Short Hills

June 17, 2018


From the Temperate West Coast to the Cool North East: Set to Open in Vancouver, Short Hills, and Montréal


TORONTO, ON – Canada Goose Holdings Inc. (NYSE: GOOS, TSX: GOOS), today announced the next phase of its global retail expansion, opening three stores this fall in Short ...

Essex County Freeholder President Brendan Gill Proclaims June LGBT Pride Month

NEWARK, NJ – Essex County Freeholder President Brendan Gill announced that the Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders passed a resolution at their last meeting, Wednesday, June 6, 2018, proclaiming June as LGBT Pride Month in Essex County.

“I am proud to stand with our LGBT brothers and sisters in recognizing June as LGBT Pride Month, and look forward to continue working ...

Millburn Fire Department Observes Fire Safety Stand Down Week

The Millburn Fire Department is observing Fire Safety Stand Down Week the week of June 17 – 23 to raise awareness and action around preventing injuries and deaths among firefighters and emergency first responders.

The annual event is a joint initiative of the International Association of Fire Chiefs and the National Volunteer Fire Council. This year’s theme is “Be Aware ...