MILLBURN, NJ - With all districts in the township reporting, the Essex County Clerk's Office has released the unofficial vote tally for the November 2019 general election in Millburn.

In the race for township committee, incumbent and Mayor Diane Eglow and running mate Richard Wasserman both appear to have won election to the committee. Eglow received 1,919 votes and Wasserman received 1,936 votes.

The Republican candidate Agnes Sym received 1,880 votes and Sharon Strickland received 1,262 votes.

Sign Up for Millburn/Short Hills Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

TAPinto Millburn reached out to the Elgow/Wasserman campaign for a statement. The following statement was provided by local Democratic Party Chairwoman Annette Romano:

"We are encouraged by the numbers and remain optimistic while we wait for the official results. I am proud of the positive campaign that Dianne and Richard ran."

In the election for the Millburn Board of Education, all four candidates were elected while running unopposed. Incumbents Sonali Ganti and Cori Hasse both won reelection, being joined by newcomer Jonathan Green. Hasse recieved 2,234 votes, Ganti received 2,298 votes and Green received 2,241 votes.

Additionally, Millburn High School student Jamie Serruto was elected to fill the remainder of an un-expired one-year term on the board. Serruto received 2,438 votes.

A small number of mail-in ballots are still being counted, and will be done by no later than Thursday, and provisional ballots will be fully counted by Monday.