SHORT HILLS, NJ – Millburn Township leaders gathered at the Short Hills Club on Wednesday for the Short Hills Association annual meeting and dinner. Mayor Cheryl Burstein, Deputy Mayor Jodi Rosenberg, Township Committee members Robert Tillotson and Dianne Eglow and Superintendent of Millburn Schools Dr. Christine Burton were in attendance, as were Millburn Fire Chief Robert Echavarria and Paper Mill’s Managing Director Todd Schmidt.

The venerable guest list also included high school Principal Dr. William Miron, Chinese Association President Dr. Roy You, Desi Club President Neerja Mishra, Board of Adjustment Chair Joseph Steinberg, Recreation Director Robert Hogan and Library Director Michael Banick and TAPinto Millburn/Short Hills Editor Karen Hughes.

The Short Hills Association is the oldest civic organization in Millburn Township, whose aims are to promote, preserve and protect the interests of Short Hills and Millburn residents, to monitor and report on meetings of governing bodies and to make recommendations when advisable.

Sign Up for E-News

The purpose of the annual meeting is to elect the new slate of officers for the upcoming year.  It is also an opportunity for the Association to thank the leadership of Millburn for the dedication and support they provide to township residents and families.

“This is a unique gathering in Millburn Township,” said Association President James LaDue. “as it is one of the only times that all principals from government, education, public safety, media, arts and culture come together for an evening; to exchange ideas, share experiences and to strengthen relationships.”

The evening kicked off with a performance by Millburn High School’s award-winning a cappella group, Soulfege, opening the event with a classic rendition of the National Anthem. The group closed their set with their recently recorded single, “You Give Love a Bad Name.”

The Board of Directors then unanimously re-elected and installed James Ladue to another term as President, Ben Zhang as Vice President, Sanford Kimmel as Treasurer and Alan Kuritsky as Secretary.

“The purpose of our meeting tonight is to nominate, confirm and install the officers for the upcoming year. It is also a time of thanks.” Said an Association board member. “We are here to offer thanks to our past officers for their dedicated service, to thank our membership for another year of loyal support and most importantly to thank and recognize all of you, here in this room, for your leadership, your guidance and for your wisdom.  Because of you, we have one of the finest school systems in the land. Because of you, we have the lowest municipal debt of any surrounding municipality.  Because of you, we live in one of the safest communities in the country. You provide the framework that allows our children to succeed; you provide the forum for a community to discuss and debate, and you provide the assurances that give residents peace of mind and a high quality of life.”

The evening concluded with comments by guest speaker Kate Hartwyk, Director of the Essex County Division of Cultural and Historic Affairs. She discussed and provided thoughts on the South Mountain Recreation Complex, the Turtleback Zoo and the socio-economic impact the development has had for Millburn Township and the surrounding communities.