SHORT HILLS, NJ – The Short Hills Association is hosting their annual Candidates Forum including all four candidates vying for two seats on the Millburn Township Committee tonight. The event welcomes the two incumbent members; mayor Cheryl Burstein (D) and Robert Tillotson (R), and challengers Jacqueline Benjamin-Lieberberg (D) and Michael I. Birnberg (R).

The forum provides the residents of Millburn Township to hear directly from the candidates in a debate-style format on current issues that concern residents. It is also an opportunity for residents to ask direct questions on any topic relevant to the governing of the municipality.

The evening will provide each candidate an opportunity to address the township outlining their qualifications, accomplishments, and capabilities to lead and serve the residents for a three-year term.  The election of Township Committee members coincides is November 7.

Sign Up for E-News

The Township Committee is comprised of five elected members who oversee an annual budget of approximately $50 million. The members amongst themselves elect the mayor and deputy mayor annually and announce the appointments at the reorganization meeting held in January of each year.  The current Township Committee members are Cheryl Burstein (mayor), Jodi Rosenberg (deputy mayor), Dianne Eglow, Sam Levy and Robert Tillotson. 

The forum commences promptly at 7:30 p.m. and will conclude at 9:15 p.m. The Candidate’s Forum will be held in the main conference room at the Education Center located at 434 Millburn Avenue, and light refreshments will be served. All Millburn Township residents are invited to attend.