NEWARK, NJ — Though municipal elections are over in Millburn Township, the official vote count to see who will serve on next year’s township committee is yet to be determined.

According to the unofficial election results provided by the Essex County Clerk, Democratic candidate Richard Wasserman garnered a total of 1,936 votes (a combination of in-person ballots and vote-by-mail ballots). Democratic candidate and current Millburn Mayor Dianne Thall-Eglow secured the second spot with 1,919 votes.

Despite securing the most in-person votes last Tuesday, with a 47-vote lead, Republican candidate Agnes Sym fell short of the mark when vote-by-mail ballots were counted, trailing Wasserman, and Thall-Eglow by 39 votes. Republican candidate Sharon Strickland received a total of 1,262 votes.

Sign Up for Millburn/Short Hills Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Last Friday the Essex County Board of Elections counted the remaining vote-by-mail ballots resulting in widening of Wasserman and Thall-Eglow’s lead over Sym. Sym currently trails Thall-Eglow by a total of 49 votes for the second township committee seat after Friday’s count.

At this time however, approximately 200 provisional ballots remain uncounted, meaning the race cannot yet be officially certified.

Tomorrow, the Board of Elections will convene at 4:00 p.m. in the Hall of Records at the Essex County Courthouse to count the provisional ballots and determine the top two candidates of this year’s closely contested race for Millburn Township Committee.

An announcement of the final vote count is expected shortly thereafter.

Provisional ballots are used to record a vote when there are questions about a given voter’s eligibility. The most common example being if a voter requested a vote-by-mail ballot but never mailed one in, thus allowing the voter to cast an in-person vote.