MILLTOWN, NJ - In a ceremony held on Oct. 29, Milltown's Joyce Killmer School celebrated the induction of the inaugural members of the Joyce Kilmer National Junior Honor Society. In speaking to Milltown Superintendent of Schools Dr. Stephanie Brown, there was a desire to align the district's mission with a representation of those efforts among the district's students.

The district mission statement reads: The Milltown School District, in collaboration with family and community, is committed to academic excellence for all students. We aspire to develop confident lifelong learners who will succeed in a diverse and changing world.

The mission of the National Junior Honor Society reflects a similar sentiment through its focus on five principles: scholarship, service, leadership, character, and citizenship. Both Brown and Kilmer School Principal William Veit emphasized that the premise and mission of the NJHS reflects the well rounded student and adult that is at the heart of the educational purpose in Milltown.

Sign Up for E-News

Students were selected based on a criteria that commits to recognize and encourage academic achievements while also developing other characteristics essential to citizens in a democracy. They are represented by the five principles mentioned previously. Inductees must maintain the standards by which they were selected, including continued performance at or above the required GPA, involvement in service and leadership projects.  In addition, the NJHS constitution expects members to attend meetings, and to participate in individual and chapter service projects during the scholastic year.

The students were introduced one by one and inducted along with their honor teacher, who represented them as the people most responsible for influencing them in the manner that lead to their being an honor society member.  A total of 28 students were inducted.  The members are advised by Geralyn Gerhart, and co-advisor Gloria Jozefowicz.

The inaugural group selectedthe following officers to represent them:

President - Stephen Gardner

Vice-President - Emily Sullivan

Treasurer - Kayla Wathen

Secretary - John Hoban

The other members inducted were: Derek Buhl, Nathanial Carone, Megan Clarke, Alexander D'Amico, Justin Dekovics, Melanie Eckert, Allison Gardner, Michael Izzo, Trevor Josefowicz, Sarah Marotta, Nicolette Maselli, Thomas Meagher-DiEllo, Alyse Messeroll, Ashley Murphy, Thomas Newton, Andrew Oross, Christian Owens, Nisil Patel, Courtney Potter, Fed Rago, Gina Ridgway, Michael Stanaway, Matthew Tarrant, and Adi Zacks.

Editors Note: This is an updated version of the article to correctly reflect Dr. Brown's title. We apologize for the error.