JAMESBURG, NJ - Both Spotswood High School cross country teams hit the courses running this fall. The boys cross country team finished the season with a 7-1 record, losing only one meet to North Brunswick High School, while the girls cross country team also finished with a winning record. The Lady Chargers' overall record on the cross country season was 7-2, with losses to Metuchen and Bishop Ahr.

On Saturday, Oct. 22, the two teams competed in the annual Greater Middlesex County Cross Country Championships at Thompson Park in Jamesburg. Hitting the course on a chilly, rainy morning, the Chargers' Justin Dekovics was the top finisher for Spotswood. Dekovics finished sixth out of a field of 168 male runners, crossing the finish line with a time of 16:38.62. Old Bridge High School's Rey Rivera was the overall winner of the meet, winning with a time of 16:12.84.

Nick Toth was the next highest boys cross country finisher for the Chargers, coming in thirty-fourth with a time of 17:20.27. Joseph Harold came in sixtieth place with a time of 17:47.74 while Anthony Bonacci came in seventy-first with a time of 17:59.55, Rich Karczewski rounded out the top five Spotswood finishers with a time of 18:01.31. Karczewski finished seventy-fourth. Metuchen High School won the team competition for the boys while the Chargers finished seventh out of a field of 25 teams.

Sign Up for E-News

Cassandra Raia was the top finisher for the Spotswood girls cross country team, finishing sixteenth out of a field of 149 runners with a time of 20:30.71. Shelby Piccinic from Colonia High School was the overall girls cross country winner with a time of 18:46.21.

Katherine Parlitsis finished twenty-third with a time of 21:10.93 while Samantha Wasserman finished forty-third with a time of 21:57.18. Marcella Adiao finished fifty-third with a time of 22:19.64. Nickie Maselli rounded out the top five Spotswood finishers, coming in seventieth with a time of 22:59.67. The Spotswood girls cross country team finished fifth in the team competition out of a field of 22 teams. South Brunswick won the overall team competition.