MONTCLAIR, NJ – A group of Montclair State University television students were honored at the 39th College Television Awards in North Hollywood.

Montclair State’s Laura Galarza, Mariano Arocho, Madijuene Traore, Genesis Obando, Madison Glassman, Babee Garcia and Natalie De La Rosa won the Seymous Bricker Humanitarian Award for their piece, Montclair News Lab: Hurrican Recover Mission to Puerto Rico.

"Television’s most prestigious student competition spotlights the next generation of content creators,” said Madeline Di Nonno, chair of the Television Academy Foundation. “With the support of the Television Academy, our donors and sponsors, we are building a pipeline of talented individuals that are diverse, inclusive and relevant to audiences. The Foundation is committed to providing students with opportunities to learn from and network with top industry executives to help guide them as they embark on their dream careers. Congratulations to all of the winners!”

Sign Up for E-News

Click here to watch the award-winning segment.

The award came with a $4,000 cash prize.

The College Television Awards is held annually by the Television Academy Foundation at Saban Media Center in the NoHo Arts District in Los Angeles.

The family of entertainment attorney Seymour Bricker created the Seymour Bricker Humanitarian Award more than two decades ago.

Aside from the award ceremony, nominees “took part in a three-day Nominee Summit, designed to enhance professional development. The summit included networking opportunities with industry executives, Academy members and Foundation alumni, according to the Television Academy’s website.