MONTCLAIR, NJ - The following letter was sent to the editor on June 14, 2020 regarding the reinstatement of longtime Planning Board member Martin Schwartz:


To Mayor-Elect and Councilors-Elect

From Linda Cranston, SaveMontclair Coalition and signers:

Sign Up for Montclair Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.


As the Founder of SaveMontclair, a coalition of nearly 500 members who are supporters of better planning and preservation, I wanted to reach out during this transition period to express the importance of maintaining Mr. Martin Schwartz on the planning board.  The loss of his extensive knowledge and commitment would be a great disservice to residents of Montclair.

As current Council members know, Mr. Schwartz has served as an essential member as the mayor’s representative on this board since the Master Plan reviews.  When Mayor Jackson decided to step down from the planning board to focus on other issues, he asked Mr. Schwartz to act as the mayor’s representative.

Mr. Schwartz has worked tirelessly during these years, consistently demonstrated clear and detailed understanding of the complexities of development for the town and neighborhoods. On many occasions he is the lone voice willing to state what needs to be done for project improvements or to respect zoning by eliminating excessive variances not in the public good. 

Thank you for your time and attention.


Linda Cranston, Founder, SaveMontclair

Cary Africk, Former 3rd Ward Councilor  

Jinni Rock Bailey, Former Warden, St. Lukes Church

Serges Demefack, Coordinator, Frog Hollow Museum and Cultural Center

Jason DeSalvo, Former Vice Chair, Planning Board

Lori Gladstone, Founder, Owner, Secret Montclair Facebook site with 11,633 members

Frank Gerard Godlewski, Architectural Historian    

Dick Grabowsky, Commercial Property Owner  

David Greenbaum, Member, Historic Preservation Commission

Caroline Levy, Member, Historic Preservation Commission

Elaine Molinaro, Former Chair and Member, Montclair Arts Advisory Board

Imke Oster, Former Chair and current Commissioner, Montclair Environmental Commission

Adriana O’Toole, Board of Trustees, Aging in Montclair  

Andrew Pincus, Founder, Study Hall Gang

Scott Pollack, Former President, Watchung Plaza Business Association  

Christa S. Rapoport, Esq. Chair, Civil Rights Commission

Cathy Shandler, 3rd Ward Community Leader

Aminah Toler, 4th Ward Community Leader  

David Toler, Member, Civil Rights Commission

Ilmar Vanderer, Board of Trustees, Montclair Library

Carole Willis, Member, Montclair Planning Board