MONTVILLE, NJ - The Montville Township High School girls soccer program hosted their post-season banquet at the Lake Valhalla Club on Nov. 16, ending with a record of 8-12 for the varsity team.

On that night, the program, at all levels, shared highlights and celebrated the girls’ accomplishments throughout the season. Varsity Coach Dana Bertoli emphasized the girls’ consistently positive attitudes, stating in her speech, “As you have listened to me talk about this team this year, you have probably realized how nice and hardworking this group of girls is.”

This banquet was also dedicated to the seniors: Captain Nicole Feaster, Captain Francesca Coppola, Hayley Zwickel, Jenna Koske, Valbona Camaj, Ashley Colaiacovo, Amanda Gorski, Alana Gomez-Solis, Cynthia Olowski and Avery Pepperman.

Sign Up for E-News

Freshman Isabella Vito was awarded the Most Valuable Player for 2017. Bertoli described Vito as a “player that never stopped working. She always gave 100% effort and we wouldn’t have been as successful as we were this season without her.” Leading with 13 goals and 4 assists, Vito was the top scorer for Montville this year and an asset to the team.

“We told her next year her goal is to exceed that,” Bertoli added.

Four-year varsity senior Francesca Coppola took on a new role as both co-captain as well as a defensive player. Although she changed positions after three years, Coppola stepped up as a valuable player in the back line earning her the Most Improved Player award.

Contrary to previous years, Bertoli granted two Coach's Awards, which were given to Nicole Feaster and Alana Gomez-Solis as both recipients exhibited leadership qualities and expressed their dedication to the team. Bertoli said that through their constant optimism and encouragement of others on and off the field, both players became role models for the program. Even Feaster, who could not play due to an ACL injury, “dedicated her time and life to this team even after not being able to step on the field.”

Five players were also recognized within their conference: Francesca Coppola and Gianna Coppola for First Team, Alyssa Semren and Isabella Vito for Second Team, and Daniella Vito with Honorable Mention.