MONTVILLE, NJ – Montville Township Mayor Jim Sandham was one five Morris County residents honored at the Boy Scouts of America, Patriots’ Path Council Lifetime Achievement Awards dinner.

The 22nd annual event, held at the Park Avenue Club on April 19, recognized Morris County citizens for their community service, “as evidenced by their leadership and interests within the Morris County community, and for their embodiment of the values of the century-old Scout Oath and Law in their personal and professional lives,” according to a Boy Scouts release. The event chairs were current Morris County Sheriff James Gannon and retired Morris County Sheriff Edward Rochford.

Madison Councilman Bob Landrigran, Rotary District Governor Margit Rahill, Patriots’ Path Council Executive Board Member Dan Stringham and Denville Police Chief Christopher Wagner were the other four residents honored.

Sign Up for E-News

Sandham thanked Fishawack District Committee Chair and Montville Township resident Bob Davidson for nominating him. He recalled that in 2015 there were 19 Eagle Scouts, calling this a testament to the leadership in Montville Township’s Troop 74.

He thanked his friends, family, and the Jaycees, “whose creed ends with ‘service to humanity is the best work of life,’ which taught and motivated me,” he said.

“I used these wonderful people as mentors and role models, trying to emulate their good qualities,” he said. “You can also learn a lot by watching your children.”

Sandham said he is a “Boy Scout at heart,” and that he “hoped he has made good choices as an elected official and as a person.”

Members of Montville Township’s Police Explorer Post 805 were on hand to present the colors. Explorers are not Boy Scouts, but fall under the umbrella of the Boy Scouts and is an organization for students interested in law enforcement careers.

Morris County is a part of the Patriots’ Path Council of the Boy Scouts of America. The Patriots’ Path Council serves 17,000 youth in over 400 Scouting units in communities throughout Morris, Middlesex, Somerset, Sussex and Union Counties.