MONTVILLE, NJ – The June 13 Montville Township School District Board of Education meeting opened with a song as the Montville Township High School “School of Rock” sang “Helplessly Hoping,” as introduced by School of Rock parent Susan Champion.

“The School of Rock is here to thank the district for the support shown for their group and for the arts in general at the high school,” Champion said. “My son has been in the School of Rock for four years and I have watched this group progress. This group not only teaches music but teamwork, cooperation, and being part of a unit that has to work together. Many of the kids in the group are also stars in academia. They’ve also raised money for the Montville Education Foundation, Project Graduation and other charities.”

Superintendent of Schools René Rovtar went on to honor district staff and administrators who will be retiring. Tragically, Rosemary Bell passed away in early June, so a moment of silence was observed in her honor. Board President Matthew Kayne said it is a bittersweet time, but “each of you has left in your own way an indelible mark.”

Sign Up for E-News

The retirees include: Rosemary Bell, Sharon Carr, Irene Filosa, Cesar Flores, Anita Gerber, Patricia Grusczynski, Douglas Hackett, Frances Hersh, Joyce Janowicz, Elizabeth Jemas, Connie LaMonica, Paula Musciotto, Mark Philhower, Paul Pignatello, Terri Racioppo, Robert Reinhardt, Nancy Robinson, Debra Rosenblum, Joann Rutherford, Maria Slota, Patricia Tabeek, Denise Tarsitano, James Tevis, Mark Winters.

MTHS teacher Heather Einstein introduced students Andrew Aarons and Parth Agrawal, who presented their DNA analysis research, conducted through Rutgers University and the Research in Molecular Biology class at MTHS. Supervisor for Math, Science and Business Sandra Schwartz said she “couldn’t be prouder of the student’s efforts.”

The board honored Veda Bhattaram, third place winner in the National Geographic Geography Bee National Competition.

Rovtar introduced incoming School Business Administrator Katine Slunt and World Language Supervisor Jessica Clarke. Outgoing Business Administrator James Tevis will be retiring on July 1, and WLS Lisa Howard will be leaving the district on the same date.

The board also honored the 2016-2017 Board of Education Student Representatives, Bayann Amer and Jonathan Kraft.

The results of the study regarding the Special Education department will be presented at the June 27 meeting.

The state has determined that all portions of the referendum to be voted on in September are eligible for 40% debt service aid. However, the district does not yet have information on the tax impact if the first or all questions pass.

The board voted to nominate member and past president Dr. Karen Cortellino for New Jersey School Boards Association Member of the Year due to her “record of outstanding service” during her 11-year tenure on the board, as per the agenda. Cortellino said it was an honor to be nominated, and teachers’ union president Peter Porter said during public portion, “We have respected your efforts on our behalf.”